Back to
 Dust Devils'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Dust Devils
CD Title:  Gathering Dust Reviewed by:  Spindifferent Date: 12/2/05
Reviewer is from:  Somewhere near Austin Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

After I saw the Dust Devils live performance for my friend's 50th B-Day (everyone knows Tom from El Paso), I knew I had to have this CD.  Kevin and Barbara put on a great live show, and the CD is just as good!  Kevin's "Company Time" and Barbara's "Outlaw Girl" are my favorites with their passionate vocals and Texas-style rock and roll accompanied by the likes of the steely dobro on Company Time and the bluesy guitar licks on Outlaw Girl.  Walk On with a sense of purpose in the moment!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Gathering Dust Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 11/22/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

The Dust Devils just keep getting better!!  Barb Malteze and Kevin Higgins are the dynamic duo, and this CD proves it!!! FIVE STARS - Count 'em!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  C.S. Date: 12-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Lago Vista, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I first heard this group perform live at the Gruene Dance Hall in Gruene, Texas and I've been following them ever since.  This group is so awesome I just know when the right person hears them "BAM!"; their career will be off like a shot and I probably won't be able to afford their concerts after that.  They can have you laughing and dancing one minute and reduced to tears in your beverage the next.  They have a sound and style that is unlike any other.  I definitely recommend them to any music lover out there.  Give 'em a listen won't ya?

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Dave Pilot, editor Rockzilla.net Date: 9-24-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Check this out!
http://www.rockzilla.net/pilot109.html

 

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Ken Norbury Date: 8-24-03
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I saw this group for the first time during their second set at the Scenic Loop Cafe in San Antonio on Saturday, August 23rd.  I was completely blown away -- one song after another.  The music had real rhythm, the vocals were out of this world, and the acoustic guitarist was mesmerizing!  And they didn't even have an optimal stage set up!  They had personality and style, leading up to many of their songs.  The songs were originals, the lyrics priceless.  I couldn't help be drawn into the stories as they unfolded.  And they were not afraid to inject some genuine humor into the ballads.  The group closed with "Damn (I Had A Really Good Time)", which was real classy.  But Kevin, the main writer and lead vocal, remembered that he had promised Terry (or Teri?) a song and decided to break with the routine (such spontaneity!) and sing "Angel Of Dixie", which sealed my approval.  I jumped up to grab the last CD of "Sixer" on display on stage and congratulated the group with a hearty "You guys are EXCELLENT!"  I played "Sixer" all the way home, and my daughter ran to her PC to look up the group's website and emailed me the lyrics to "Angel of Dixie".  Then I looked up the website and ordered their CD immediately.  This group is FRESH, and I would gladly track their engagements and bring my friends and family to one of their concerts ANYTIME.  It won't be soon enough!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 7-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Kent, Ohio Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Best CD I've heard in forever!!  If their next CD is this good I'll be doin' some buyin'.  The CDD's music is a new sounding type of music coming out of Texas which is palitable for people out East.  Enjoy!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Daisy Cutter Date: 6-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Everywhere, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This CD is as bold as it is fresh.  Kevin Higgin's songs are well-crafted and though provoking.  "Angel of Dixie" is haunting in it's depiction of a dying confederate soldier's longing for home..."in heaven they don't wear no blue or grey"...
The diverse nature of this CD is what is so striking.  This band is not afraid to take chances in an era of "white bread, play-it safe" artists.  Barbara Malteze's electrifying yet soulful vocals on the swamp-rockin' "Alligator Mouth" are nothing short of amazing.  As musicians, CDD can do it all.  Two-steppin' country (Damn...I Had A Real Good Time), two-line cajun (Scratch), train shuffles (Railroaded - an absolute gem of a song), heart-wrenching ballads (Now and Then - a misty-eyed song about the reality and pain of losing a loved one), southern rock boogie (Natchez Trace), and bluegrass (Your Kind..."the old man said it might come to this, just because the river runs dry we don't tear down the bridge")
Mark Tokach's exceptional guitar playing is remniscent of the late Eddie Shaver, of whom I'm guessing Mark was a big fan.  This is evident on "Slow Setting Sun" and Kevin's tongue-in-cheek diatribe about the changing face of Texas....
"I grew up in Texas on the great frontier, now everybody and their brother is moving up here"... Mark's gritty twang-pickin' wraps around KEvin's dry vocals and drips with sarcasm in a somewhat reckless call and response.  When Kevin makes a reference to California in this song, Mark slips in the melody to "California Girls".  It's that kind of humor that makes me like this band so much.  It's refreshing in a world of "win-at-all-cost", artists to find a band that doesn't take themselves too seriously.  Kevin Higgins will undoubtedly be recognized as one of the emerging great singer/songwriters in Texas music today.  I rate this CD four and a half stars for it's ambitious diversity and CDD's reminding us all that just because it's Texas Music doesn't mean it has to be only country music.  Purists beware...because, just like the tornado warning sign on the cover of the CD, CDD are coming on strong.  By the way, as good as this CD is, CDD are even better performing live.  Go and see for yourself.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Lance & Aaron Band Date: 5-5-03
Reviewer is from:  Fredericksburg, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The Cosmic Dust Devils have such a great sound to them that they could probably fart in a mic and I would still buy it.  This CD is a true work of art and I recommend that anybody with half an ass go out and buy this disc.  Like Kevin would say, "Damn, I had a real good time!"

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Doug Kirkpatrick Date: 4-8-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I am a guitarist for 20 years.  When I first saw this band, I almost gave up playing guitar!!!  Mark Tokach is the most amazing guitarist that I've seen since Eddy Shaver!!  Go NOW and see this band live!!  This guy ROCKS!!  No wonder they call him The Tornado.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Dominique Costanoga Date: 2-10-03
Reviewer is from:  France Rating:  Radio Marseilette - France  

Add a review

Great Band!! Kevin Higgins has a sincerity and genuineness that is becoming more and more uncommon among up coming singer song writer and that is refreshing.  Barbara Malteze is so good!!!  She is a flame-thrower!! Don't play "Alligator Mouth" on my car CD player; I tended to get a little lost!  Hillaty Jean Smith sings with her guy - her heart - her soul.  It is always a great pleasure to discover a band with real musical personality.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Dana & Derek Date: 12-20-02
Reviewer is from:  Fredericksburg, T X Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This band has soul to spare, and they play their hearts out for you.  Kevin Higgins is a songwriter in the vein of Mellencamp and Springsteen - Texas style.  Songs of the road, of the working man, of pure love, of living up good times and getting through bad.  Excellent musicians all, they take you on a high spirited romp through original Texas music - country, blues, gospel, rock and roll.  To top it off, they have not one but two vocalists with powerful leads and striking harmonies, each of whom could front their own band.
The Dust Devils have filled a hole in us that's been empty a long time.  If you grew up in South Austin in the 70's (or want to know what it felt like), if you're still mourning Doug Sahm, if your world looks more like Kelso's than Corcoran's, then you oughta come experience this band.  They've captured the spirit of a lost time with fresh songs and their own sound.  And in so doing, their music makes us realize that the warm, friendly, fun-loving side of all of us isn't gone, but was just forgotten.  Go see em.  You'll have a rolickin' good time, we promise.  And you'll meet up with some kindred spirits, too.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Dan Alloway 
(Best In Texas Magazine - Nov. 02 issue)
Date: 11-13-02
Reviewer is from:  El Paso, TX Rating:    

Add a review

 The self-titled release of "Cosmic Dust Devils" will
probably not turn a lot of heads on Nashville's Music Row.
It is not nearly bland enough to fit into the Commercial
Country Radio formula for success. Instead the CD has
enough musical twists and turns to keep the listener on the
edge of their seat. No small surprise considering the
diversity of this group.
Two of the members of the band hail from Texas. The rest
of the group comes from either East or West of the great
Lone Star State. Fortunately, they all make Texas their
home now. Their music ranges from southern rock to Hill
Country honky-tonk. Throw in some blues, bluegrass and folk
for good measure and you've got a CD that is destined to be
your player for some time to come.
Kevin Higgins ,the chief lyricist/songwriter for the
band, also contributes his talent on guitar & mandolin. His
songs range from poignant rememberances of things past "Now
& Then" to the evil swamp-boogie tune "Scratch". Growing
up in the west Texas border town of El Paso probably helped
fuel the honky-tonk spirit of Kevin's writing. The music
scene in Juarez, Mexico was accessible to anyone. The only
I.D. needed was the picture of George Washington on a
dollar bill.
Mark "the Tornado" Tokach provides the guitar
pyrotechnics for the recording. His playing is nothing
short of remarkable.
Barbara Malteze, vocals & percussion, takes the lead on a
couple of tunes. Her voice is blues-drenched and powerful.
The Cosmic Dust Devils are one of those bands that has
something to offer everyone. Their music is hard to pin
down in any one genre, so don't even try. They might not
appeal to some of the tin-earred Nashville record executive
types. But down here in Texas, we like 'em just fine.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Cosmic Dust Devils Reviewed by:  Ellen B. Date: 11-13-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

A little about:  I saw this group perform as a trio this weekend in Houston.  What great rock energy!  I bought this CD and have not been able to take it out of my CD player!  It is an amazing mix of country, blues, rock and some bluegrass!  If you don't have it in your collection...BUY IT NOW!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Cosmic Dust Devils'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter