Back to
Ed Lyons'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Ed Lyons
CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Al Quin Date: 10/5/06
Reviewer is from:  Gulf Shores, AL Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I saw Ed Lyons perform live acoustic guitar and vocals only on Sept 29 at the Flora-bama in Orange Beach, AL and bought his CD from him that night...what a CD...but to see him perform other known song classics was a great treat...man is he good and what a voice - he will be back I am sure.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking, Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Gus DeMouy Date: 4/11/06
Reviewer is from:  Pensacola, FL Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

For bookings in the east gulf call us at: 850-549-5767
Gus DeMouy/Snafup Records

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Cindy McDermitt Date: 11-27-04
Reviewer is from:  Pensacola, FL Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I saw and met Ed Lyons when he performed at our local favorite watering hole in Pensacola at Sir Richards...he played set after set of great classic country songs as well as songs off of his CDs...he was a big hit and I hope he gets booked again soon - also, he gave away and sold a lot of CDs he had with him...thanks EDDIE.  Come back soon.  CINDY

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Justin Cook Date: 1-30-04
Reviewer is from:  Vandiver, AL Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I think that Ed Lyons is one of the best country singers I've heard in a long time as well as a great teacher at Vincent Middle High School.  He has helped me so much in my studies and I thank him 4 that.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Russ Dillingham Date: 4-16-03
Reviewer is from:  Auburn, AL Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I saw Eddie perform at Auburn University's best country bar "The Struttin' Duck" on April 12th...what a singer/performer, I was blown away, so was the crowd...he will return on April 25th, back by popular demand.  Anyway, I bought his CD off the bandstand and was really amazed at these songs...especially after seeing him do them live...anyway...I went to his website www.snafup.com and saw a special ad to buy his video of him performing the songs...and I just ordered it...that's how I found your site, and had to send in my opinion.  Great site...thanks...Russ

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Keith Cullen Date: 2-18-03
Reviewer is from:  Pelham, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I am honored to say that I've been listening to Ed for years, and it is fantastic that his sound is finally getting out on CD so others can enjoy it as well!  Do yourself a favor and buy both CD's!  Your car CD player will thank you, too!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Ollie Klufinski-Kirby Date: 2-13-03
Reviewer is from:  Melbourne, Australia Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have never heard of Ed Lyons and I must say that since receiving this album it has been requested over and over again on WYN FM 88.9...a fantastic voice and so very easy on the ears...it is super to be able to play great country music to air.  Apart from a great country voice these tracks are original and that, in my book, is a super bonus.  Thank you Ed Lyons for these 2 great albums that I now have in my collection to play to air DOWN UNDER of yours.  This is a fantastic artist that should be in your collection if you love great country music.  There is not a bad track on the 2 albums of Ed Lyons.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Dominique Costanoga Date: 2-10-03
Reviewer is from:  Radio Marseilette, France Rating:    

Add a review

Ed Lyon's "Wishful Thinking" - excellent album, really refreshing.  Ed Lyons is very impressive.  His songs are well crafted, reflecting a long trek down the road.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Jim Boulo Date: 1-28-03
Reviewer is from:  Atlanta, GA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I think that Ed's new CD "Wishful Thinking" along with his first CD "Ticket To Nowhere" clearly demonstrate that Ed is a singer/songwriter with exceptional talent.  His eye-misting, toe-tapping, humorous and/or been-there-done-that-type lyrics are delivered in a strong and memorable manner.  I highly recommend both of these CDs!

Editor's note:  You can HAVE both CDs at a discounted price!  Go back to Ed's page to learn more!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  anonymous Date: 1-25-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I heard a cut "Better Him Than Me" on K-Star Country 103.7 and then bought the CD at Diamond Head Records in Houston.  WOW, I am impressed with Ed Lyon's songs...music, lyrics and especially the vocals.  Also, the CD contains the music tracks that I also just like to listen to and hey, I can sing along with!  I found your website by going to www.snafup.com which has a direct link.  Great site.

Editor's note:  Why, THANK YOU! We're proud to bring you such incredible artists like Ed Lyons.  The pleasure is ours!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Dave "Screwloose" Miller Date: 1-7-03
Reviewer is from:  North of The Border paper Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Local singer/songwriter Ed Lyons continues to treat us to more of his home-spun country gems.  With some of the best local musicians joining Ed, like Alan Huff on keyboards, Kenny King on bass, Kenny Jackson on lead guitar, Ted Turner on drums and Randy Cornor on acoustic guitar, the quality is tops.  This latest release covers the field from tongue-in-cheek humor like "Little Debbie" and "Better Him Than Me" to crying in your beer tear-jerkers like "I Learn Something Blue Every Day" and "Daddy, When's This Divorce Thing Gonna Be Through".  Then there's the lively "Whiskey, Show Some Mercy" and "I'm On A Roll" to round out the selections.  The pace ranges from slow ballads to toe-stompin' two-steppers, and the arrangements are well-produced.  There are also 9 bonus "k" tracks with the music background only.  Ed takes his music seriously and never fails to please.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  David Lyons Date: 1-6-03
Reviewer is from:  Ocala, FL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

As a long time country fan of all the artists I have to disagree with your comparison of voice.  When my family first received his first CD we all compaired his voice to that of Don Williams on his slow slongs.  Yet we enjoy that wonderful Alabama Acsent of this Texas singer.  I understand he won a contest in Germany.  It would be great to see some type of write up on the events that took place to be a winner.

Editor's note:  You might want to check out Ed Lyon's personal website to inquire of him about any contest details.  We are not provided with that sort of information.  Also, if you are disagreeing with the reviewer's comparison of Ed to Faron Young, we're not sure how to comment except to say that the beauty of Texas music is that it can be a blend of all sorts of influences, including that of Don Williams, Faron Young, and countless other brilliant artists.  Faron Young was the first person to come to the reviewer's mind.  
Thank you for the added compliment to Ed Lyons!  Don Williams is truly a master, and Ed is truly one of the most gifted artists we've heard!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Wishful Thinking Reviewed by:  Lauren Date: 12-25-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I love the CD "Wishful Thinking"!  I listen to it every day!  It is my favorite CD!  Wishful Thinking, "I'm On A Roll", and "On The Sidelines" are some of my favorite songs but all the songs on this CD are wonderful!  I think this is a great CD for anyone who likes Classic Country music!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Lauren Date: 12-25-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This is a GREAT CD!  I listen to it all the time!  I love the way Ed Lyons sings and I love lyrics of his songs!  This CD is great for any Classic Country Fan!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Tim Skinner Date: 9-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Goshen, IN Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

First heard Ed sing 30 years ago at his house.  Thought he was good then.  We were kids.  He is great now!  I probably have the only copy of the CD in Indiana for now, but will be sharing it with everyone I know.  Keep up the good work ED!

Webmaster note:  Sharing is over-rated - send your Indiana friends to MyTexasMusic.com to get their own copy!  :-)

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Robert Snuff Date: 9-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Ft. Worth, TX Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Loooooooved it!! Wished there were more musicians like him!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 9-02-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I heard Ed sing at Mugshot and several other special occasions in the Birmingham area.  He is just as good in person as on the CD.  He has a great voice and writes meaningful lyrics.  He also sings great tributes if anyone is interested in personal recordings for retirements, birthdays, etc.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 8-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Birmingham, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Great CD!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 8-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Alabama Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Nice blend of ballads and dance music.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Mark Dorlon Date: 8-25-02
Reviewer is from:  Mobile, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have heard Ed Lyons live several times.  I appreciate the music he plays from years ago, as well as his new "Ticket To Nowhere" sound.  If you like country music, you can't help but like Ed Lyons and "Ticket To Nowhere".

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Jim Boulo Date: 8-25-02
Reviewer is from:  Atlanta, GA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Caught a show on Dauphin Island, Alabama, and really enjoyed Ed's performance.  I can see the expression on Terry Bradshaw's and/or Toby Keith's face when Bradshaw hits the saddle after "...jump from the second floor on down to my horse and unload my gun in the air..."  "Cowboy Nowboy" is a classic!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Lee Date: 8-24-02
Reviewer is from:  Birmingham, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Ed has a fantastic voice!  I could listen to his CD nonstop.  The melodies are memorable.  The songs are sensitive, funny, catchy, and always beautifully done.  "Ticket To Nowhere" gets two thumbs up for sure.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Lynn Date: 8-23-02
Reviewer is from:  Auburn, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Nice and mellow, the way country is supposed to be.  Nice to hear there is new talent out there who plays like the good ole boys!  Waylon, Willie, Don and so on...Keep up the great work!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Ron Sadge Date: 8-22-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've spent my life loving and performing music.  I can appreciate the listening beauty of Ed's songs.  "Ticket To Nowhere" is a CD that I enjoy often.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Debbie Date: 8-22-02
Reviewer is from:  Jacksonville, NC Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I love this CD!!  I could listen to Ed's voice anytime!  I am waiting for Volume 2!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Sam Skinner Date: 8-22-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have not always been a country music fan, but "Ticket To Nowhere" has made me a believer!  Ed's lyrics are most expressive, and his voice is full of musical passion.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Bren Date: 8-22-02
Reviewer is from:  Alabama Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The quality of Ed's voice is awesome.  This is an album with songs that I can't get out of my head.  What a fantastic find!  Ed is a great talent.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The CD is true country at it's best.  It takes me back to my roots, growing up on Willie and Waylon.  The lyrics are wonderful.  It is true country.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Veronica Lewis Date: 8-20-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

When I first heard Ed Lyons, my first comment was how powerful and memorable his voice is - I was hooked.  And I began to tell everyone I knew.  Then I listened to the lyrics of each and every song.  I had not heard a songwriters' ability to tap into true love and deep feelings and still relay these words to fit all love situations, since Chris Isaak.  I have had the opportunity to see Ed perform live and the strength of his vocals could last 24 hours and still not skip a beat.  What I am anxiously awaiting is for a Country Legend to discover Ed, and let him be their opening act on tour so that some day he'll be a Country Legend entertaining fans like me.  I have yet to tire of Ed's CD "Ticket To Nowhere", and I plan on buying them as gifts.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Ralph Sheffield Date: 8-20-02
Reviewer is from:  Medford, OR Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I recently had the privilege of listening to Ed Lyons in the Boats Lounge at Dauphin Island, AL (Fishing Rodeo event) and was so impressed with his talent and true dedication to country music. It was a refreshing experience to hear true heart-felt country music again, without the crossover between country/pop.  Mr. Lyons, keep up the good work!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 8-19-02
Reviewer is from:  St. Paul, MN Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I really like all of the songs from the ballads to the dance songs.  They have memorable lyrics and are easy to sing with.  Ed has a versatile voice and a classic country style.  Highly recommend it.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Ginger Hodges Date: 8-19-02
Reviewer is from:  New Albany, MS Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've heard Ed play live before and was extremely impressed with his singing.  He did a great job covering a wide range of material.  I didn't know that he had such songwriting talent at the time.  The all-original song collection on the "Ticket To Nowhere" CD shows an ability to write a wide range of songs that equals his singing talent.  I would recommend this disc to any fan of Texas music.  By the way, the "Mississippi (Soul of Dixie)" tune is my favorite!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  David C Date: 8-19-02
Reviewer is from:  Memphis, TN Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Not a bad song on this disc - plain and simple - pure country - nice vocals

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  P. Brown Date: 8-19-02
Reviewer is from:  Atlanta, GA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Most enjoyable listening...

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Rhnea Bostick Date: 8-15-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Listen folks, we first Ed sing at Cavatotes in Houston.  His singing and timing just blew me away.  Didn't matter if he was singing his own songs or Merle's, Cash, Paycheck, Pride, or whoever, they are all done very well.  Ed has a lot of volume and heart and soul in all the songs he sings.  You can tell he has a passion for good music.  I will hear him again when he comes back to Houston.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Ticket To Nowhere Reviewed by:  Al Tanner Date: 8-13-02
Reviewer is from:  Mobile, AL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Excellent!  I hope he continues with great success.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Ed Lyons'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter