Back to
GH's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Grissom Hill
CD Title:  a live show in Hamlin Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 3/15/08
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Caught this band in Hamlin, TX back in November - great show!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 10/25/07
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

I saw GrissomHill at the Shadetree Saloon - really enjoyed the show guys, and the CD is pretty damn good!!  Keep rocking!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  Ricky Krueger Date: 7/4/07
Reviewer is from:  Seguin, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I finally had a chance to listen to "Who Cares" CD on my way to Houston this week.  I am very impressed with it all.  The sounds and flavor of your style of music really are a compliment to Texas music.  I really enjoyed "What It Takes" (my favorite) as well as "Texas Music" and "One".  I am looking forward to seeing this band live.  I will add your music to my collection.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  MK Date: 6/12/07
Reviewer is from:  Breckenridge, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Listened to this band for the first time a few weekends ago...I bought the CD and was surprised...although the CD is good - the live show is better!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  Marshall Date: 5/30/07
Reviewer is from:  Round Rock, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Wow - I had been given a copy of the first CD "Overtime", which, although I liked it, is nothing like "Who Cares"...and I enjoyed their live show in Walburg...kick ass!!!  These guys ROCK!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  Marcus Date: 5/25/07
Reviewer is from:  Round Rock, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Wow - totally different from the first CD - I like it!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Who Cares Reviewed by:  Thomas Date: 2/20/07
Reviewer is from:  Abilene, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Just listened to some of the new songs off of WHO CARES that I downloaded from the FTP site.  Great stuff.  Enjoyed the first CD but I am also looking forward to hearing the completed new CD.  Great job, dudes!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/14/07
Reviewer is from:  Wichita Falls, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Still listening to OVERTIME and loving what I've heard from WHO CARES.  I love to look at the pictures of you guys. I am truly happy you never let go of your dreams and did not let anything stand in your way!  Always in my thoughts and my heart, still.  Lots of love - good luck in 2007 (GO BUCKS!)

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Caren (brentschic@yahoo.com) Date: 11/14/06
Reviewer is from:  Garfield, AR Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Saw these guys in a private setting at a friend's wedding party.  They were fantastic!  I love the chemistry of this band.  Overtime is the first cD I have ever listened to and could not wait for the next song.  I can't wait for the new CD - thanks guys, you're awesome!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Bryan Morrison Date: 10/20/06
Reviewer is from:  Sequin, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Overall impression after hearing the CD was very positive.  This is a great mix of individuals who can play together and come up with the blend of music that can be enjoyed by many people.  My favorite songs are Overtime and Whiskey.  Would like to hear other instruments such as a fiddle or banjo on a few tracks next time.  Great first CD.  I will check their website for future shows.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Rick Teneyuque Date: 9/30/06
Reviewer is from:  Sequin, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

My family and I heard the CD Overtime for the first time.  We had to go back and hear it again.  It's a nice arrangement and easy to listen to.  We all liked the song "Whiskey" - it's a fun song to sing-along with.  I would not change anything on the next CD - and we hope to catch the next Grissom Hill show in 07.  Great job, guys.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Walter Frankland Date: 9/22/06
Reviewer is from:  Spring Branch, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Saw these boys at the Shade Tree last month, and they rocked!  Could not figure out their influences on music.  But they all bring a high level of energy, fun and talents.  We would be very pleased if they brought their music back to Spring Branch.  Keep Rockin, Texas Boys...

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 6/13/06
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I saw these guys at the Homegrown Hootenanny, and their new music kicks ass.  Overtime is a good CD, but, these guys rock live.  I think their next album will be a lot more rock in roll, at least I hope so, that is what they seem to do best!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Kent Vick Date: 1/25/06
Reviewer is from:  Luling, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I have been keeping up with this band for some time.  They are real professionals who love music.  You can hear it and see it, when performing live.  I saw these guys at "Concert in the Park" in New Braunfels last summer, and people really enjoyed the show.  I can't wait to see them perform close to home.  I keep up with their tour schedules and have not had the opportunity to attend.  I am expecting great things from this group.  Keep rockin' and hope to hear you on the radio someday.  #1 fan - KV.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Darla Titus (titusd4family@aol.com) Date: 10/13/05
Reviewer is from:  Stamford, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

GrissomHill is truly amazing!  They had a very unique and original sound.  You can really tell these guys love music and they have lots of fun!  It shows in their songs.  There is a song on this CD for everyone that is anyone!  I love them all!!  All of my friends will agree with me when I say that I hope to hear you on the radio soon and who knows - you have a sound for a movie soundtrack too.  May GrissomHill have the Stage at their feet!  They deserve the very best!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Walt Date: 10/6/05
Reviewer is from:  New York, NY Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I was turned on to this CD by a co-worker of mind in Arkansas.  At first I wasn't sure what to think about the mixture of styles.  But the more I wonder, why don't more groups arrange this way. Great CD, Great sound, I am ready for the second CD already.  By the way - want to play in "the City"?

Editor's note: The "mixture of styles" you mention is what makes Texas Music so doggone special - the musical influences here are as diverse as the landscape from border to border.  GrissomHill are masters of blending their influences - glad you've caught on!  :-)

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Cindy Date: 9/21/05
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Wow! I just caught one of your shows out in West Texas and you rock!!  I had listened to your CD and it's good but more impressed with your live show.  I hope to catch another show in the near future.  Keep up the good work!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Mark and Jennifer Date: 9/17/05
Reviewer is from:  Wichita Falls, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Grissom Hill ROCKS!  If you think the CD is good, you should see them LIVE.  They have an amazing energy and an obvious love for playing good music.  Can't wait to see them in Big WF in December!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Melissa Baker (melissaafoster@hotmail.com) Date: 8/24/05
Reviewer is from:  Bella Vista, AR Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Antique Soul is my new favorite song.  The whole CD is excellent, this is the first CD where I have listened to every song and liked them all.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Paul Date: 8/16/05
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Nice original soundtrack.  Music is easy on the listening, something for any mood!  Deep lyrics on a personal and relationship level.  I'd like to see these guys live, any idea if they are playing in Dallas?  Would like to hear the vocals just a little more in front of music.  The singer has nice range and seems to make the transitions fairly easy.  Rock on guys!  Maybe we will see Grissom Hill on the big stage someday.  Are you committed or is this just a hobby?

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Listenin' In Kansas Date: 8/2/05
Reviewer is from:  Wichita, Kansas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Easy on the ears and hard on the soul of an ole' boy who left a small Texas town behind.  I gotta say, it makes me homesick.  Well done.  Listenin' in Kansas.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Carey E. (carey_echols@yahoo.com) Date: 7/19/05
Reviewer is from:  San Marcos, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Wow - I haven't heard you guys since Plain Jane split up!  There are a few famiilar tunes, but with a Texas twist!  You still sound great!  When I heard you guys were playing at Gordo's I couldn't wait to come check it out, but I will be going out of town.  Keep in touch and let me know when you are playing again! - CE

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Stephenie Lane Date: 7/14/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I've been listening to them since they started out and their music has really matured into this awesome compilation.  I saw them recently at Wild Willie's Ranch and they are just as good live as they are in the studio.  Keep it up, guys!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Musicman Date: 7/12/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Well I must admit, this is different.  Not sure how to classify the sound.  Very diverse, but good!  Nice arrangements, a little heavy on some of the drums, though not too messy.  For a first album, it is very impressive.  Songs are more than just sounds.  Very creative.  OK Boys, what else do you have in you?  I feel like the surface has been scratched!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Claudia (claudia@mrirogers.com) Date: 6/27/05
Reviewer is from:  Fayetteville, Arkansas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Great CD with great lyrics.  Has a little bit of everything from heart-felt, to life-changing and of course whiskey-drinking!  A must buy for everyone that loves good music.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 6/22/05
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  ллл  

Add a review

OK, I was hesitant when I heard the first song, but I must admit, this music grows on you.  The lyrics, both Grissom's and Hill's are - well - different.  Not sure how else to explain it.  There may be a little, dare I say, Pink Floyd in this band's music.  I think they need to push themselves more musicially.  I wonder if this is their "true" sound?"

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Paul Chandler Date: 5/23/05
Reviewer is from:  Ft. Worth, Texas Rating:  ллл   

Add a review

Interesting compilation.  Diverse, yet tasteful.  A little over the top on some of the drum tracks especially in "Wasted Days" but all in all, a solid first time album.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Apple Boy Date: 5/23/05
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas Rating:  ллл   

Add a review

These guys function by writing a very diverse type of music.  Never the same, never boring.  Sometimes, they're like rock, sometimes they're like country.  A little Americana every now and then.  They are out in their own kind of genre!  Keep up GH...I think the best is yet to come.  And kudos on the album.  It's fun to listen to, especially Wasted Days!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Marie Date: 5/23/05
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I saw this band out in Walburg and they were great.  I had no idea this was their first CD, they sounded like pros.  Great job and great album...keep them coming!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 5/23/05
Reviewer is from:  Wichita Falls, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Awesome!  A very distinctive sound that will speak to a wide range of listeners.  Can't help but smile while listening to this album.  They will go far!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  MB Date: 5/20/05
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

First of all, this is a very artistic album, and may not appeal to everyone who is just looking for a quick head-turner.  Very different from what the current mainstream Alt-Rock/Americana so called sound is producing.  I found myself returning to several tracks able to identify with various situational experiences conveyed in the lyrics.  Musically, this CD contains sounds from various genres as identified in your review.  I am interested to see what will come next from this group.  However, in my opinion, this group is more rock than stated here in your review than stated here in your review.  I would be very interested to see what a big-time studio, could accomplish with this foursome!  Overall, a very creative sound.  You need to catch this band live!  They play with a great deal of spontinaity and energy.  I was at the CD release show in Texas, and not only do they sound great live, they enjoy performing.  If you're thinking about buying it, get it, you will like it!  I know I do!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 5/20/05
Reviewer is from:  Arlington, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Very heartfelt lyrics.  This band can bring many genres together.  Whether you're in the mood for rock or americana, they are easy to the ears.  This band is very talented and I hope there is more to come!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Donna Shumate (dshumate@uark.edu) Date: 5/20/05
Reviewer is from:  Elkins, Arkansas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I really like the style and sound of this group.  I particularly like Antique Soul, Overtime, Wildflower Lane and My Way.  I predict good things for this group.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Overtime Reviewed by:  Bridgette Date: 5/20/05
Reviewer is from:  Elkins, Arkansas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I love this CD!  It's easy listening and understandable, great mix of rock, alt-rock and country combined.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
GH's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter