Back to
Hayes'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Hayes Carll
CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Michelle (astraldreamers@yahoo.com) Date: 3/7/05
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

A musical genius.  Hayes weaves profound narratives with simple and beautiful melodies creating a diverse soundtrack for your life.  Seeing him live is more like a long, past due conversation with a dear old friend than a concert.  I am rarely more in the present moment than when enjoying the mastery of his artistry.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Rex Jordan (bluestraveler101) Date: 10/1/04
Reviewer is from:  Victoria, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Every once in a great while, someone comes along and seems to set standards of excellence with hauntingly unforgettable lyrics and vocals that attach to your soul, that leaves one feeling like they have just been bit by a high-voltage charge.  There should be a juke box hall of fame for albums of this caliber.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  kpooop@yahoo.com Date:  9/2/04
Reviewer is from:  Galveston, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This is one of my staple CDs.  Always there and always loud, anyone who has heard it has loved this disc.  Can't wait for the soon-coming CD.  Check out a couple of his newest tracks at CMT.com.  Type in "Hayes" under the artist and follow through the instructions.  Ever have a chance to see him, DO!!  Especially if he's performing at his birthplace as a musician, Bob's Sports Bar and Famous Grill right off Highway 87 in Crystal Beach or the The (Old Quarter) Acoustic Cafe on 20th in Galveston.  Wherever, however this catdaddy puts on one hell of a show.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  John Reiser (JRDemocrat@aol.com) Date:  7/31/04
Reviewer is from:  New York, NY Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

As good as the other songs on "Flowers & Liquor" are - and they're good enough to make this a winner of a CD - worth way more than what you'll pay to own a copy, it's "Live Free Or Die" that catches one's attention.  "Live Free Or Die" is the motto that appears on the New Hampshire's license plates, occupying the same spot that "the Garden State" fills on New Jersey plates, or "Home of the Death Penalty" on Texas plates.  The kind of mind that sees that slogan and flips forward to creating lyrics expressing the views of a convict forced to make the license plates is only found in people with just the right screw loosened just enough to entertain the hell out of the rest of us.  How many albums have a cut that makes you play it every time a friend or family member visits - you know, "Listen to this song for a minute!"
Perform a mitzvah for yourself - buy this CD!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date:  7/28/04
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Hayes Carll is going to be a legend.  I am so excited to have discovered him and am looking forward to watching his good name spread.  Austin will soon catch on.  New album comes out soon, God willing. :-)  Sorry Hayes!  Just a joke there.  Flowers and Liquor stays in my CD player and everyone who hears it ends up buying it.  I haven't like a CD this much in a looooong time!  YOU won't regret buying this album.  It's bad-ass.  Hayes is a bad ass.  And he is so fun to hear live.  Don't miss an opportunity to see him - ever.  Trust me.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  D.R. White Date:  9-3-03
Reviewer is from:  Kingwood, TX Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I had the opportunity to see Hayes Carll perform at the Pineywoods House Concerts last week, up in Conroe.  I was very impressed by this young man's songwriting ability and even more impressed with his delivery.  I purchased his CD and have kept it in my truck CD player for the last week....Great music!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date:  8-1-03
Reviewer is from:  Caplen, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I haven't heard the CD yet, but I've seen Hayes many times down at the beach in Bob's Sports Bar on Hwy 87, and I've seen him play most of the songs on the CD.  If his studio work has captured any of the energy and off the cuff style of his live performances, it must be great.

Editor's note:  Dear Anonymous, yes, we can vouch for Haye's studio work - he even won our Rising Star Award at the MTM Music Awards 2002!  
You'd be missing out if you didn't own the CD, so get it here!
www.mytexasmusic.com/hayescarll
www.mytexasmusic.com/awards

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Chelsea Jordan Date:  5-13-03
Reviewer is from:  Groves, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

There is nothing bad that I could say about this amazing boy, Hayes Carll, he took my breath away!  I was fortunate enough to have seen him at the Log On Cafe on May 9, 2003 and I would have married that man right there on the spot!!!  He seems like such a down to earth human being and I would love to be able to go have some drinks with him down there on Highway 87, where all the bars know his name!  Keep up writing and singing, because you are out of sight!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Flowers & Liquor Reviewed by:  Kailah Jones Date:  1-29-03
Reviewer is from:  Conway, AR Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

The album is great.  Hayes' voice sounds a lot like Townes Van Zandt but his playing style is much more upbeat and engaging.  Try to see him live - it's a fabulous contrast to his recorded style.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Hayes'
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter