Back to
HH's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Highspeed Hayride
CD Title:   Thought You Should Know Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 6/24/06 
Reviewer is from:  Texas  Rating:  ллллл    

Add a review

Great songs on new CD!! Songwriting is wonderful and execution is perfect...loved the whole thing.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Thought You Should Know Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date:  6/10/06
Reviewer is from:  Texas  Rating:  ллллл    

Add a review

This sophomore album is AWESOME!  All of the songs are good.  LOVE IT.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Gwen Neal Welty (gwen_david@yahoo.com) Date:  5/15/06
Reviewer is from:  Alvarado, Texas  Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

After seeing you perform at Raisin L Ranch Saturday, I want to be added to the HSH groupie list!  I just ordered the new CD - can't wait to get it!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date:  
Reviewer is from:  unknown  Rating:  ллллл    

Add a review

Keep getting better and better! Can't wait for sophomore CD.  Had great shows in Houston.  Looking forward to Corpus.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/15/06
Reviewer is from:  Lake Jackson, Texas  Rating:  ллллл    

Add a review

I work at a bar and so I hear a lot of bands.  The best bands get to come back to this bar if I had it my way these guys would never leave.  This bunch of guys are very nice, polite and just a joy to listen to.  Wish all bands were like that...

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Danielle Date: 11/28/05
Reviewer is from:  Rockport, Texas  Rating:  ллллл    

Add a review

Highspeed Hayride - their music is bad ass, and they are all such cute guys, too.  They really know how to entertain ya.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Julianna Date: 9/12/05
Reviewer is from:  Fort Worth, Texas  Rating:  ллл   

Add a review

I heard these guys live in Port Aransas.  They have a lot of energy and the show was good.  The lead singer has a nice voice, the drummer is right on.  Bass player slaps the heck out of it.  The lead guitarist is okay, but should stay away from playing Hendrix - country is best!  The original songs were good, especially Lights of Town.  Thanks for a good show!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Joy Date: 7/18/05
Reviewer is from:  LaVernia, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I am amazed at the talent of these four guys.  I heard them at Madden's in Port O'Connor this weekend and they were ROCKIN'!  It was an awesome show.  Can't wait to see them again...I hope they play near San Antonio.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Amanda Brandt Snelling (mandasnelling@aol.com) Date: 7/2/05
Reviewer is from:  Alice (Goliad), Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This email not only goes out to the whole band in saying congrats on how well ya'll are doing, it goes out to Shelby David, one of the very first friends I made when I moved to Goliad.  I anyways knew your music would become well known since the first time I heard you play in your living room.  Manda.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Crystal Date: 6/29/05
Reviewer is from:  Floresville, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Hey guys...awesome, awesome show on Friday night in Port Aransas!  I am so glad to have heard you.  The talent has come so far since I have last seen you perform months ago.  You had all of us raving about it!!  I am receiving emails from people that would like to book you...so I have been forwarding your info to the proper authority.  We are looking forward to seeing you play again.  Love the new colors of the T-shirts...GREAT idea.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  talaniz64@aol.com Date: 6/12/05
Reviewer is from:  Corpus Christi, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Saw these guys in Corpus at the Exec Surf Club - they were great!  Hope they can come down here and play more often.  I was invited by the lead singer's cousin, Kathryn O'Neil, so I also bought the CD - definitely worth checking out.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Ashley (ashley_b248@hotmail.com) Date: 5/29/05
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I just wanted to say that you guys are awesome...I have fun when I see you perform and ya'll are really good at what you do!  Keep up the good work!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Nicole (brown_eyed_nikki@yahoo.com) Date: 4/2/05
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Y'all are truly talented! We have been chompin' at the bit waiting for this CD and now the girls from K-town can listen to the voices of the boys we love more than anything! Every song is incredible, but Love Song in G is my personal favorite. Every performance is better than the first and I must say that the girls from K-town couldn't be more proud of your debut CD. We all have copies, and they never EVER EVER leave the car. They are with us on every trip, at every football game, and at every event! We can't wait for the sophomore album! We LOVE Y'ALL!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Denise (dweiMA@yahoo.com) Date: 4/2/05
Reviewer is from:  Falls City, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I personally cannot wait for my copy of Lights of Town to arrive to me.  I do however know David personally and know that his love form usic is purely genuine, therefore I know that this CD will be my most favorite CD I will own.  Hey David, Play Strong, Ride Hard and Stay Happy.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Jason Kennedy
cowboycool924@yahoo.com
Date: 3/22/05
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

These guys are old friends of mine.  I saw one of their first performances at a graduation party.  I never expected for it to come to this.  They have a CD and they're playin' all over Texas!  You guys instilled pride in lil' old Goliad, as well as me.  Gene, Garret, David - I'm proud of you guys.  I guess I will have to come see y'all perform and buy a CD.  If one ya'll reads this email me sometime.  I miss you guys.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  one of your first fans
acsb13@hotmail.com
Date: 3/11/05
Reviewer is from:  Navarre, Ohio  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Outstanding!  Although I have been "with" this band from the beginning, I have not had the privelege of hearing you live.  I have listened to your CD and I feel it is a wonderful piece of work.  You are all talented musicians and you deserve everything you have earned.  Congratulations and I hope to hear more from you soon!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 2/23/05
Reviewer is from:  Corpus Christi, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I had the opportunity to see you guys at the Executive Surf Club.  Outstanding job!!!  All of you are truly talented.  Can't wait to see you guys again.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 2/15/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Read our review of Highspeed Hayride at: www.texasmusicmob.com/cd_reviews.htm

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Tasha (touche@awesomenet.net) Date: 2/11/05
Reviewer is from:  Victoria, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

To appreciate Texas music you must understand what it stands for.  The long awaited CD "Lights of Town" is a collection of songs that come from the heart and soul of people just like you and me.  It is a great CD and I love each and every song.  The beauty of Texas music is that it is unique and gives the artists the freedom to make it their own.  Way to go guys!  I love ya'll for the kind of people you are and the kind of people you represent.  And to all negative comments....you're no daisy!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Kent Ballard Date: 1/17/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown  Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

A very good CD especially for a first effort from a group of young musicians.  What impresses me the most is that the band writes its own material.  I especially like the guitar part in "Hangin' Tree".

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/13/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Great high energy band!  They keep you on your feet all night.  You can tell they don't perform for money, they perform to have fun and get everyone else to have fun!  If you haven't heard them yet then get off your butt and go see them!  They're GREAT!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Donna (donna@gvec.net) Date: 1/4/05
Reviewer is from:  Gonzales, Texas  Rating:  лл  

Add a review

 This  CD sounds like it was recorded
> in someone's garage. > Poor production quality  combined with songwriting that is mediocre at best...the  result is another  low-budget low-quality debut CD.> These guys sound great
> live! Well rehearsed,  good stage presence...next
> album should be a live album. > { NOTE: MTM only lets  through the positive reviews, > so you will never see this posted...which is too  bad, it makes me wonder how many other less than
> overly enthusiastic and positie  reviews never make
> it through...my friends and I  all question the validity of  these MTM reviews since any time any of us post something that is honest, and  not ass-kissing to the artist under review, it  never makes it through  editing...shame on you MTM!   These artists are grown
> men and women, and do not  need to be protected from
> the "bad reviews" like  little children...if anything,  you are doing more  harm than good when you only allow through the positive  reviews...it is reviews from all sides, constructive criticism, that allows  an artist to grow...}

MTM RESPONSE:

Hello Donna -  
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for Highspeed Hayride.
We appreciated your comments about review posting, but wanted to alert you to something you may not know.  While moderate-to-negative reviews are NOT automatically posted, they are indeed passed on directly to the artist so that "constructive criticism" can "allow them to grow".  So your efforts are not wasted - your obvious concern about the band's welfare is noticed.  We are an organization that supports our members, and the members support each other.
You would be surprised at the amount of horribly nasty reviews that people post - most have nothing to do with the music itself - rather just personal attacks on band members that have nothing to do with what MTM is all about.  If we had a system in place that automatically posted reviews, we would have to spend time that we don't have to go over every single one and spend even more time removing the ones that are cruel or unkind - and we are a volunteer organization.  Many of our members are here because they are tired of being subject to automatic posting. That's what makes us different. (Kind of like "if you don't have anything nice to say don't say it at all...")  I guess it all comes down to why people post reviews in the first place - it is obvious that you really do care about helping the guys grow musically, and that is why your email was forwarded to them directly - we were instructed by them to post it, and that's why you see it here. It's too bad the bad apples ruin it for everyone else!  If, as you mentioned, your friends all post negative reviews that aren't getting posted, you can let them know that as long as it is about the music, it is forwarded to the artist themselves, who I'm sure appreciate the feedback, and who have the final say whether or not that particular review is posted.

Additionally, Highspeed Hayride must be doing SOMETHING right, because they are nominees for the Rising Star Award at this year's annual MTM Texas Music Awards.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/5/05
Reviewer is from:  Texas  Rating:  ллл  

Add a review

I've never seen this band perform
> live, so my comments are
> not influenced  by personal ties in any way. 
> For the band's first try, "Lights of  Town", isn't
> bad.  Some of the songs
> were well written and for the most  part, the music
> was OK.  The CD is not
> spectacular, but its not bad for  their first try
> either.  I think with time, and a
> little adjustment in  their overall style and sound,
> they could make it out
> of the little dance halls  and clubs one day.  Right
> now, I think they fit
> better in small Texas dance  halls than anywhere
> else.
> After reading the previous reviews, I get a sense
> that the personalities of
> the members of the band play a big part in their
> popularity.  It's a shame
> that those personalities cannot transcend through
> the CD.  Maybe a dvd of a
> live show, included with their next CD, would  help
> their CD-listening audience
> connect with them a little easier.
> Would I  suggest this CD to other people?  Not
> really.  It's just not my
> style  of Country Music, or is that Texas Music?

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  The Matt (confewzed@hotmail.com) Date: 1/27/05
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, Texas  Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This is a very good, talented band and I enjoy going to their shows.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Krystle (krystleleigh83@yahoo.com) Date: 1/19/05
Reviewer is from:  Ganado, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This band stole my heart about a year ago, and things haven't been the same since!  Not only did they help convert me to Texas Country music (I was a hardcore alternative fan) they have put a smile on my face with every performance; and with their new CD it's been a smile for everyday.  I love every song on it, primarily because it's all original and unmistakably from the heart.  If I had to choose a favorite song (painful as it is to choose!) I would have to go with Lights of Town, it is truly a masterpiece!  Their music has attitude, they use their own spin on performance and song which makes them stand out from all the rest.  Lucky me, I had the opportunity to meet a few of the band members and they are true southern gentlemen with the biggest hearts anyone could imagine.  Come see HSH at a live show and buy a CD!  Ya'll won't become cum-ber-some with this band.  Good luck with your future endeavors, guys - we are so proud of you!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Brooks Parker (brooks_06@hotmail.com) Date: 1/10/05
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

One of my favorite CDs in my case.  Lots of fun songs that are great to enjoy!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/5/05
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This is an excellent high energy group, whose CD was long overdue.  The lyrics and tunes say so much about life in today's world.  It's obvious that the boys have lived in a small town life, but sing about themes that apply to towns of all sizes.  I'm already looking forward to this year's performances, their next CD, and the chance to root for them at the awards show in February.  Gene, Garret, David and Matt - GOOD LUCK and CONGRATULATIONS with the Rising Star Award's nomination!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 12/21/04
Reviewer is from:  Cuero, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

There isn't another up-and-coming Texas music band that can compete with these guys.  The energy and power behind every performance and the huge array of music they are capable of playing is stunning.  Two thumbs (and several toes) up to Garret, Gene, David, and the new kid Matt.  Great job guys!  Keep on rocking!  If you can't make it to a show, check out the CD...it's just as fun to listen to as the live shows!  Peace.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Ann Date: 12/12/04
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

This is a great CD!  One song is really from the heart that's very touching.  Love Song in G.  Mi Amigos and Me is also a fun song to listen to and sing along with.  You guys are doing great - keep it up.  I can't wait for your next CD because I already have all the songs on this CD memorized!  I've become really good friends with Gene, Kari and Matt.  Matt is a real sweetheart, ladies, and Gene and Kari are perfect together.  Thanks for so many fun Saturday nights, and can't wait to hear ya at Kari's birthday.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Carrie (strawberry@ykc.com) Date: 12/9/04
Reviewer is from:  Ganado, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I am a personal friend of HSH.  I say that because these guys go out of their way to make each of their fans feel that they "count" in a highly appreciative way.  They are definitely not your typical band.  HSH performs for all the "right" reasons instead of just for the money.  They like to make people happy and accomplish this with style.
I have recently obtained "Lights of Town" and although I have followed this band for quite some time now, their CD continues to blow me away.  And to think...I NEVER used to like Texas Music until hearing these guys on stage.  Now, if that doesn't say anything about the talent of this band, what does?
With the loving support of their families, wonderful girlfriends, exceptional friends, and #1 fans...these guys have truly been given a blessing.  Keep up the great work and continue reaching for those stars!
To everyone out there...it doesn't matter what kind of music you listen to because you'll find something on the CD that will tickle your fancy.  And don't forget to check these guys out live.  You won't be sorry!  That's what got me hooked....

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Crystal Walpole Date: 12/04
Reviewer is from:  Floresville, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

First, with the sudden departure of the previous drummer, Matt Wilson, Highspeed was lucky to find a talented young man named Matt Groll, right there in Goliad, Texas.  I believe he is an asset to this band.  Yes, he stumbles a few times, but with his positive attitude and high hopes, he gets through it.  GREAT JOB, Matt!  Your energy has re-defined Highspeed Hayride.  When I am at the shows...I get so many positive comments about this kid and his contributions to the band.
As for the CD, I have been enjoying it daily.  I have been friends with David for many years now, and can't believe I made fun of him when he told me he had a band a few years ago.  I guess you can say I' am eating my words now.  Every morning when it comes time to head to work, my four year daughter says, "Put Gene, David and Garrett in"..meaning....play some Highspeed Hayride.  When the song "Diamond Ring" is fixing to start she says, "Oh, yeah - this is a good one!"
My daughter and I are proud of you guys.  Keep up the wonderful work!  Go with the positive, stay clear of the negative...it will keep you alive longer!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 11/20/04
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Great group of guys that put on an awesome live Texas rockin' show!  CD has something for everyone - all come from the heart: fun-loving to heartbreak!  This is one to watch.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Lights Of Town Reviewed by:  Kari (kari_p_02@yahoo.com) Date: 11/17/04
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

These guys are my very favorite!  Not only are they the sweetest guys in the world they are very talented and know how to put on a really awesome show!  You definitely need to check them out if given the chance!  Their CD is one that never gets old, the songs on "Lights Of Town" are all based on their life experiences and really make the listener think!  I recommend this CD to everyone!  I Love You Guys, especially Gene!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 11/7/04
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

High energy, fun-loving, great Texas music!  A little something for everyone - rock'n'roll, ballads, country, pure Texas, etc.  A "must go see" upcoming band.  All home-town guys with a lot of heart.  They are AWESOME!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Big Bubba Date: 11/1/04
Reviewer is from:  Victoria, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

The performance of October 1st CD release party was a blast - I had never enjoyed myself so much as I did that night!

Rock ON!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 10/30/04
Reviewer is from:  Jackson County, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

There is not one person I would not recommend this band to.  They play a little bit for everyone's taste and never let the crowd down.  In addition to their musical talent, they also become true characters on stage by getting into the music they're playing.  The lead guitarist is awesome especially when he pulls one of his tricks with his electric.  The bass player has character unlike any other I have observed in concert.  The lead singer has a voice/character of his own which makes it interesting just to listen during/between songs.  The drummer is new, but not any less talented.  RAVE reviews for these guys and I cannot wait to see the CD available!

*Editor's note: The CD should be ready in time for the holidays...check back often or get on the mailing list to be the first to know when it's here!  www.mytexasmusic.com/maillist

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 10/13/04
Reviewer is from:  Goliad, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

These guys are so awesome, on and off the stage.  I have seen them so many times that I have lost count, we began following them when the band first started and we fell in love.  From the TRUE #1 FANS - we love you guys!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Cole Date: 10/12/04
Reviewer is from:  Port O'Connor, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Highspeed Hayride is phenomenal, just an awesome show.  I drive down from Austin to Port O'Connor just to see them play at Josie's Cantina.  I love their original songs too, especially diamond ring.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Crystal (my_1brat@yahoo.com) Date: 5-12-04
Reviewer is from:  Floresville, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

These guys will always get 5 stars from me.  Must go see, very entertaining, and energetic with music that comes from their hearts!  They are true artists.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Cyn
Cyn75@hotmail.com
Date: 2-28-04
Reviewer is from:  College Station, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

AMAZING!  I've seen them about 4 or 5 times, and each time I am just blown away.  They know how to have a good time, and they take you along with them.  They are one of a kind...GO SEE THIS BAND!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Demo and concerts Reviewed by:  Nicole
msanders@kbhome.com
Date: 3/15/04
Reviewer is from:  Kingsville - TAMUK, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

We love you BOYS!  You always steal our hearts and souls when you are all on stage together.  The girls from Kingsville love that you are making your dreams come true and we are so proud of you!  You will always be our favorite and we will always be your #1 FANS!  We love you!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:    Reviewed by:  Cleighton Date: 2-28-04
Reviewer is from:  Beeville, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

The progression of this band is amazing.  They have gone from the back yard band to an electric, energetic show that you would be a fool to pass up.  I confidently say that i am their number 1 fan forever.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Demo Reviewed by:  walter.baxter@fescoinc.com Date: 2-24-04
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I have listened to Highspeed Hayride several times live.  They never let their audience down.  If you have never heard them and you like "high energy" Texas music with a twist of Rock n Roll, you will not be disappointed.  I definitely recommend you make one of their shows!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
HH's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter