Back to
John's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for John Vandiver
CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Randy B (randyb@wcc.net) Date:  5/16/08
Reviewer is from:  Menard, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

We would go see John and Shake at the Texas Opry House in Houston and Steamboat Springs.  When I found this CD online I couldn't believe it.  I ordered it immediately and when it showed up in the PO box, I was on my way to San Angelo.  I played it all the way there and back.  This 50+ man looked like a teenager rockin to their favorite tunes.  It was a lot of crying and laughter all the way.  This CD can bring anyone up if they are feeling down.  If you never heard of John, I recommend you get this album.  It's one of the greatest feel-good albums on the market.  There are a very few that can hold a candle to this production.  GOD BLESS JOHN AND DEB...BLESS JOJO FOR KEEPING THIS PART OF OUR LIVES ALIVE!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Price Berryman (priceguitar@hotmail.com) Date:  12/6/07
Reviewer is from:  Centennial, CO Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

John and I went to Sunset High School together in the '60s.  He was responsible for my life-long love affair with the guitar.  The night I played my first gig, at the Rubaiyat, was with John's GIBSON.  I didn't even own a guitar then.  I remember Saturday nights at the original location of the Rubaiyat...John was always there to encourage me.  I seem to remember a jug band we both played in for a while after the Rubaiyat moved to its second hom...a much larger venue.  I have such fond memories of John...still miss him...always will.  After almost 45 years of playing and recording, I can truthfully say that it never would have happened except for John...his friendship and mentoring.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Marcie Date:  1/26/07
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The night my beloved friends, John (and Debbie) were murdered, I was waiting at his gig with an amplifier I had borrowed for him at a small outdoor pub just outside of San Antonio.  Kept calling him, then after a few hours, I gave up.  I will always miss the man, his music, his off-beat clapping, his humor, and how he loved us, his friends, and of course, his fans.  When I heard this CD had been released, I immediately bought a couple of copies.  Now, my daughters, ages 21 and 18, got to hear John and both wanted his CD.  How much do I like this CD?  There are not enough stars in the sky.  I was 7 months pregnant with my oldest on that dark night we lost our friends.  It was a loss beyond words.  Having some of his songs is such a gift.  Thank you for this CD.
Marcie (Broodo) S.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 4/25/06
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I had forgotten how wonderful his voice was.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Gene Giermann Date: 7/13/05
Reviewer is from:  Prescott, Arizona Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have been a big John Vandiver fan for many years.  I was a regular at Poor David's Pub in Dallas and would see John whenever he was in town.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  James Shurley (jimishurley@sbcglobal.net) Date: 3/18/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This is some of the best folk/R&B to come out of Texas in a long long time!  My hat's off to John's family and friends who helped to get this CD into the mainstream!  I loved John as a person, and Michael Mashkes was the best ever.  May their music live on forever, and ever through us who have really great taste.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Mary Jane Laurion Date: 1/5/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

If you were listening to Shake Russell, Dana Cooper and John in the mid-70's - this CD will melt your heart.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  I Found A Dream Reviewed by:  Steve Hughes (stephenhughes@sbcglobal.net) Date: 10/27/04
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

If you were familiar with John it'll make you cry, cause you miss him so much and laugh to hear him again.  I sing along everytime it comes around in my CD rotation.  If you've never heard him, do yourself a favor and buy the CD.  It's the blues and more as only John could do it.  We miss you, John!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
John's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter