Back to
Jon's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Jon Huntress
CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  David Landmann Date: 12/04
Reviewer is from:  Copperas Cove, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Simple, heartfelt and sweet words masterfully accompanied by guitar...what could be better.  A beautiful, understated collection of musical poetry.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Judith Mansfield (jmansfie@cp.chemeketa.edu) Date: 5-16-04
Reviewer is from:  Salem, OR Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Wonderful!  The melodies are as intricately beautiful as whisteria blossoms - the lyrics woven with fine craftsmanship.  It's not just that he's more in touch with his "sensitive side" than most guys.  It is far more than that.  The strength of Jon's music is the message that exceeds the notes and words.  He reminds us that we are all in touch with each other - connected, sometimes by loss and pain; and always connected by the hope of love .

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 5-10-04
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Loved "Songs That Made Me Cry".  Jon Huntress' music and lyrics restore your faith that there really are still SNAGS (sensitive new age guys) out there!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Michael Paulissen (mpbear9749@aol.com) Date: 2-24-04
Reviewer is from:  League City, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I am 14 and am enrolled at Webster Intermediate.  Mr. Huntress is by far one of the nicest people I have met, and he is an excellent substitute teacher.  I had him in Social Studies just a few weeks ago, and he taught the class better than the teacher.  he also lets us listen to his album, and it me it was very good, and I don't really like folk that much.  But he sounded very in tune and on tempo, also he watched the dynamics of his voice with the dynamics of the harmonics, an awesome feat in my opinion, and I give his album 5 stars.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Hugh Prather Date: 1/27/04
Reviewer is from:  Tucson, AZ Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The humanity and sensitivity of the artist/composer Jon Huntress touches me deeply.  I like all the cuts in this CD and for me that has been a rare experience with other albums.  Where has this guy been?  I hope he continues recording.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Joyce Raver Date: 1/26/04
Reviewer is from:  New Jersey Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Wow!  THANK YOU - I received the best gift in the mail.  I've been listening to your beautiful CD and I'll be leaving it in the car so I can listen to it over and over when driving.  My friend, Gerry Hausman, knew I would love your work, too.  Your first song on the CD touched me the most.  Buster brought back memories of Cosmo and he was happy to take that last ride in the car too.  That had to be over 30 years ago.  Buster did make me cry.  My second favorite that touched me deeply is "Abraham and the Soldier".  You've managed to touch the nook-and-crannies of our lives by highlighting the feelings that may have been out of focus.  I appreciate your sensitivity and I'm totally enjoying your CD.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Gerald Hausman Date: 1/16/04
Reviewer is from:  Bokeelia, FL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

If you haven't heard this artist, you should.  He writes very clear, down-home lyrics about things we all love - friends, dogs, fathers, and even, believe it or not, presidents.  (Don't get all bothered now, he's writing about Abraham Lincoln).  Anyway, Mr. Huntress is one of the sweetest flat-pickers available on CD and his finger-pickin' ain't bad either, but the thing that resonates long after the CD is over is the feeling that you had a good time with this man's music, and that feeling lingers on and on.  You also will remember what he said: it's ordinary words but it isn't ordinary poetry.  Huntress could exalt a breath of air - he's that good.  And why shouldn't he exalt a breath of air - it's that good.  Live a little, listen to this heartfelt music.  It comes from a real man.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Roxy Abrams Date: 1/5/04
Reviewer is from:  New York Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've been listening to this CD over and over and over..."Songs That Made Me Cry" too!  I'm not going to give you a run down but "Angel Wings" and "Abraham and the Soldier" and "Arlene"....WOW!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  J'ai Antonette-Medlow Date: 1/4/04
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Jon's voice offers what folk music should sound like - strong and compassionate.  His song lyrics connect to a part of each of us by telling different tales of life.  "Gentle Rain" and "Buster" are particularly endearing songs, but all 14 cuts showcase Jon's polished storytelling and writing abilities.  His acoustical guitar talents add to an already dynamic sound you'll hear in every song on this CD that's sure to appeal to varied age groups.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Franco Antonetti Date: 1/3/04
Reviewer is from:  Gilbert, Arizona Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Very powerful and meaningful words.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs That Made Me Cry Reviewed by:  Anita Higman Date: 1/3/04
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating: none given  

Add a review

Jon Huntress' guitar work is magical on his new CD entitled "Songs That Made Me Cry".  The lyrics of the song "Arlene" were moving and beautiful!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Jon's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter