Back to
Old Dog Mac's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Old Dog Mac
CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Wendy (Old Dog Broad) Toups (windybig10@yahoo.com) Date: 1/8/08
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I am the original OLD DOG BROAD.  I haven't been to see Scott play in months, but I put his CD in the other night and it brought back all the old days of hanging with the guys at Judy's, Gusher Room, Antone's, and every other place Scott has played in the last few years!  I guess me and my friends will have to start going back to see the greatest guitar player I have ever heard play local ever.  As Vinnie says, hands down, the greatest.  Scott is my inspiration in more things than music and his guitar playing is exceptional.  Don't waste your time with others...see the best!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac (Scott McGill) Reviewed by:  Scooter Glass (cglass8444@yahoo.com) Date: 7/25/06
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I'm originally from Beaumont, but don't get there much anymore...down with all of the family for my Dad's 80th birthday...decided to hit Crockett Street and there he was...Old Dog Mac with Scott McGill in his finest performance before moving to Arkansas...absolutely blew us away...I have seen the best pickers/rockers/blues players over the years and Scott McGill is all of them rolled into one.  Bad Ass, rip your heart out and stomp it in the ground guitar work with the best three man band I have ever seen...played covers better than the original bands could.  My 19-year old rocker son was with me and you could not have pried us out of those seats during the entire show...he was amazed and wondered why he never heart of Scott McGill and why didn't Dallas have killer bands like that.  All I could tell him was, "Welcome to Beaumont and the real Southeast Texas rock and roll."  Got back to Dallas and talking with an old high school surfer buddy (Beaumont High School of course) and told him what I had witnessed...he laughed and said "yea, i know - he's my brother in law...did he have the new black Stratacaster...got it while he was staying with us after Hurricane Rita"...as big as Texas is, it can sure be a small world.  Thanks Scott and ODM!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Judy & Val (heartyval6179@netscape.net) Date: 6/30/05
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

The whole CD is TOTALLY AWESOME, but of course we have our favorites...and Scott knows what they are.  Dreams and I Come Running.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Vinny Montalbano (olddogmacband@aol.com) Date: 1/30/05
Reviewer is from:  Nederland, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Hello everyone thanks for all the nice comments!  This is Vinny the drummer on the CD from the original ODM band.  I've known Scott McGill most of my life, he is the best there is bar none!  I can't hardly play with another guitar picker now because Scott has ruint me!  No one gets the TONE, QUALITY, and great licks that he alone does.  The fatness just ain't there with alot of pickers, tone is everything.  When I was 10-11 years old I used to sneak in places and hear him wow master then and master now hands down.  I had bands over the years that played the same venues and we would leave them feeling bad because we just got blown away by the greatest guitar player in the world.  The bugger never would let me play with him either?  Guess I wasn't good enough?  Well in my late forties after a lifetime of playing I got my chance and I can honestly say that I learned far more in time with McGill than I had in the first 40 years!  Jimmie Barnes I met in Anchorage, Alaska in 1984 when I was up there with a road band we turned out to be like brothers, we played together jamming and it was a natural groove there and we both said "Wow - we need to play together".  So we did - then I left Alaska and came home only to bring Jimmie to SE Texas.  We had a band here then broke up and Jimmie, me and Scott connected and it was off to the races!!  Now the new Old Dog Mac is great but they ain't as pretty as we were - ha!  So Geronimo, and Bobby - you two killer players just remember that!  BAR NONE - SCOTT IS THE GREATEST AND IF YOU DON'T BELIEVE ME GO SEE FOR YOURSELF! - Vinny Montalbano, Jr.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  #1 Old Dog Broad Date: 1/28/05
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I've had the pleasure of seeing Scott McGill play many times in the last year, and each time is something to take home and tuck away for future reference.  He is an inspiration to all guitar players who want to be at the top of their game.  Recently I saw Scott play "Down By The RIver" at Rocks and I had a smile on my face the entire time because of the excellence and creativity Scott brings to the old classics.  Although "Summertime" will remain a favorite, I listen to ODM frequently and thank Vince for the gift.  See ya'll at Judy's Rocks and downtown on the 5th!  ANd we will see you at the Waffle House Scott!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Ed Starkey (starkey97@yahoo.com) Date: 1-1-05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I have been blessed by seeing Scott from a different side - from the stage as a bass player with him in King Domino.  This CD tells you what the band is.  No pose- no prima donna radio play calculated, ya know what's coming next, R&B Psuedo blues.  The man - the whole band - sweats every note.  They strip all non-essential content, and let even the silence convey the nuance of each cut.  It took him a long time to put out a project he felt was worthy of his fans and his contemporaries.  For this reviewer, the album has the same primer impact - "must hear" status as BB King Live @ The Regal.  Old Dog Mac band with Handsome Bob and Geronimo and Scott - is more of a "I don't believe what I"m hearing" event.  It's lean and powerful and you ain't heard the likes from anyone else.  Get the album - see the show - you won't be able to peel the smile off yer face. :-)

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Mike (FarCryBand.com) Date: 9-14-04
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Great band, great music, and one of the best guitar players you will ever hear!!!  Get the CD and enjoy it.  And if you ever get a chance to see Old Dog Mac live, do it.  Thanks for the great music OLD DOG MAC, and looking forward to your next CD.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Kim Northfield (TxBootScutnKimmy@aol.com) Date: 6-7-04
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I have been listening to Scott since the mid 70's at the Foxy Lady in Beaumont, Texas.  I have seen him with various band members and to this day his talent and ability to make a guitar sing is unmatched by any local band I have ever heard.  He just gets better and better (if that's even possible).  I have had the pleasure of spending a lot of time with the band as friends back in Beaumont as well as the past 3 years since my return back to TExas when Vinny and Jimmy were playing with ODM and I must say the bond amongst not only band partners, but the bond among "Friends" was something that will never be replaced.  I did stumble upon Scott and his new band at Papa's on the Lake in Conroe this weekend, wow, what a surprise to walk in and see him playing there!  The new band sounds awesome!  Keep up the continued great job Scott...your old Port Arthur fans will always enjoy your music as well your many new fans around the U.S. - we love you!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Sonya Elledge (bogarts@bogarts.org) Date: 2-21-04
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I have not seen or heard the band in at least 2 years.  When I received this CD, I was amazed at how wonderful it is.  When I'm listening to it I can see them playing in my mind.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Don Martinez (donmartinez@sbcglobal.net) Date: 12-23-03
Reviewer is from:  Huntsville, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have had the opportunity to not only listen to this album but I have had the pleasure of seeing Scott McGill play these songs live.  Without a doubt this album is the best of songs produced that I have ever heard.  Scott's style of playing cannot be justified as just blues.  His arrangement of notes and lines define a different level of understanding of the guitar's possibilities.
This album contains an old Otis Redding tune called "Dreams" that will stir emotions within anyone who has ever had their heart broken.  The slide guitar in this song is pure genius and totally from the heart.  I played this song for a friend and you could see the hair raise up on his arms when the guitar began to cry.
Another personal favorite is "Take Too Long" which I can only describe as some form of R&B with guts!  This song has all the class and style of some of the best R&B classics.
"Really Fall In Love" has a really cool drive that can be described as the ultimate driving song.  I would definitely avoid this track if you have to sit in traffic.  This song will make you want to move.
My all time favorite is a slow bar room blues tune that will have your head, feet, and arms moving.  "Wait Till Tomorrow Comes" is a hypnotic song that allows Scott to show his prowess for volume swells and slide creativity that is unmatched.  You can almost see the girl taking her hair down slowly and looking at you when he is playing that solo.
I encourage everyone to listen to this album and compare it to anything that has been released in twenty years.  You will not find a better album by anyone at any price that compares.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  H.C "Scruffy" Peabody Date: 10-15-03
Reviewer is from:  Baytown, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I had heard the name "Scott McGill" batted around for years as a "must see" guitar player and songwriter, so when I heard he was fronting this Old Dog Mac band I went to check them out at the Pelican Junction club in Baytown.  I was blown away!!!  What a great band.  They played mostly covers of old blues and southern rock songs, but I bought a CD anyway.  The CD was almost as good as the live show.  The difference was the original songs.  They were all great songs.  I especially like "Angel Like You" - it's about a barfly letting her youth slip away hanging out in taverns and really captures the essence of that existence.  There is also a barnburner of a surf instrumental that is well worth the price of the album itself.  I highly recommend this record and the live shows as well!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Craig Molenaar Date: 4-9-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Just saw Old Dog Mac this afternoon at the Little Bear...talked a little bit to Vince...you guys were GREAT...you definitely have some fans here in Colorado...see you in May...THANK YOU!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Dave Unruh Date: 4-9-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

Got to see you again after 11 years.  I was there on Thursday night and really still love your band.  Scott, I believe the last time I actually saw you was at Eck's Saloon in Denver when you had, I believe, just moved to Denver.  I saw you at the Bear many times in the early 90's.  I was sitting just to your left in front of the bass player with my brother in law.  Your drummer came up and told me thanks for coming when I was leaving after the second set.  I was the one 6'4" tall and 260.  I have always told folks you were the best I had ever seen and you did not disappoint me again.  I will be there the next time you come to the Bear.  I thin it will be in a month or so.  I had to go to work early Friday so I did not get to stay for all sets.  Believe me, next time I will stay for them all.  I will be there on Thursday night again.  I will buy a CD this next time.  You all ROCK.  I can see your love for music every time you play.  Thanks for the great show.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Don English Date: 4-9-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I was lucky enough to hear you at the 19th Hole last night and was truly amazed.  The blending of so many different styles of guitar into one fantastic sound is a pleasure to listen to.  You are an absolute wizard on the guitar.  I look forward to hearing you again.  Thanks for great music...

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Jill Miller Date: 4-9-03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл   

Add a review

I love your music.  Please record another CD!  And play more dates in the Houston area.  XO, Jill

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Ron Williams Date: 12-11-02
Reviewer is from:  Port Arthur, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Given the talents of these three professionals alone, anyone listening to any of the three would be amazed, but to have the likes of all three together on stage is more than you can imagine!  I have personally seen these guys play and all I can say is the talents of this group is nothing short of miraculous!
Vince sets the beat with his superior knowledge of the skins and symbals!  He keeps beat that keeps you on the edge of  your seat!
Jimmy kicks up the beat a few notches with his hearty bass licks and really gets your heart pumpin with his awesome style of southern blues and rock.
Scott....what can I say other than this guy is the GOD of guitars!!!  I have seen bands come and go and I've seen lots of live performances but never have I seen anyone perform night after night like this guy does with unbridled talent!  Scott literally makes his guitar come "ALIVE"; with a sound so unique you will never forget it and you'll never get enough!
If you like southern rock and blues you will absolutely love this CD!!  Look out big time...The Old Dog Mac is comin atcha!!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  R. Loy Date: 10-23-02
Reviewer is from:  Hot Springs, AR Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

What a great album...met these guys in H.S. while on a short break.  What a sound only 3 people put out. Heard them 3 different times here, once at Terry Martin's - I think the live sound is a bit better than the recorded, maybe because of the freedom of sound they can express.  i hope for their sakes they make it large one of these days...hope you're in town again with maybe a better experience for the band - GREAT JOB!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Gary Date: 10-14-02
Reviewer is from:  Denver, CO Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Saw Old Dog Mac at the Little Bear up in Evergreen, CO last weekend.  Just blew me away!  I've seen alot of small venue bands and these guys went right to the top of my list.  A high energy, highly entertaining evening...can't keep still when listening!  Of course I picked up a disc and had the guys sign it, too, which they were more than happy to do for me and many others.  I'd honestly say that Scott McGill is right up there with Stevie Ray and Lonnie Mack.  If you don't believe me...listen for yourself!  Better yet, see the band LIVE!  Kudos to Texas and the boys from Beaumont.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Grace Date: 09-29-02
Reviewer is from:  Silsbee, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

No written review.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  anonymous Date: 09-26-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

We saw Old Dog Mac is Sturgis, South Dakota and then in Colorado.  They really rocked the stage, didn't make Hot Springs, but heard they were smokin' on stage.  America and Kansas both played in Hot Springs as well.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Randy and Caran Date: 09-11-02
Reviewer is from:  Livingston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Awesome CD!! You guys are amazing and we can't wait for the next CD to come out.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Dalton Andrepont Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

One of the greats, probably my reason for playing today!  I agree, and have agreed to Scott's prowess and musical ability as being one of the best players...bar none.  I entertained the thought of playing the guitar at 16, and my Uncle who wanted to give me a tip said, "I'll take you to see a real guitar player."  He took me to see Scott McGill.  What I experienced that night as a young kid in a smoky bar called The Foxy Lady, was the catalyst to propel me into the world of guitar playing.  i had no idea of what I was seeing that night but I knew that Scott was a player that made every note reach out and hit you in the face, like it or not.  Watching him through the years, he never ceases to amaze me.  I've watched Scott some nights, and it made me just want to go home and throw my guitars away.  Truly a great musician, as well as the guys he has backing him up, it's never a dull moment.  Everytime Scott comes in when we are playing, I ask him to please get up and do a song, and if he does, it is cool to watch him play my rig, and make his sound come out, just like Scott McGill always does...his music just projects through, I think he could play on a Kmart guitar, through a Radio Shack amp, and blow the roof off the place.  I just hope he stays around so I can continue to enjoy watching him play, and don't have to go to another state...because I will if I have to!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Jeff Morrison Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

He can make anything sound awesome.  I saw Scott playing some bar in Galveston when i was just getting into music.  I didn't even know who he was.  I heard his band from the street and went inside (back when fake ID's worked)  He was playing his strat and for an amp he had a Pignose with like three sm57's stuffed in it.  I don't even think it was plugged in, because I remember seeing like the guts of this 12" tall amp just full of AA batteries.  From outside you would have swore you were hearing some kinda deluxe twin or something.  The man can in fact take a Kmart guitar and a Radio Shack amp and sound like everything you want from your rig that you just can't get.  And after drooling at his feet I decided to shake his hand after they took a break.  You would usually expect people with that much talent to be kind of yea man great thanks for coming and walk off.  He must have spent his entire break just talkin to this punk kid.  Thanks for your time, I'm still hooked on music.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

HONOR TO ONE OF THE GREATS
Scott is hands down the most underrated guitar player I have ever seen, period.  I have been very fortunate to travel the globe playing music, and Scott is one of the best guitar players I have had the honor of seeing in my entire life.  As a matter of fact, I tell all I come in contact with about Scott's amazing ability.  Some guitar players play rock, some guitar play blues, some funk, some country, etc...Scott is an exception to this, and this is where he shines the most.  He plays every style with ease, and with a choice of notes that leaves your jaw hangin' and your palette cleansed.  Just when you think you know something about music, Scott quickly reminds you that you are still in training.  He's probably forgotten more than I'll ever learn in this lifetime.  In my opinion (and many others alike), Scott should already be in the Southeast Texas music hall of fame (and if there isn't one, let's make one!)  As he stands his own with the greats and legends abroad.  I got to see Old Dog Mac at Antone's the last time they played and it moved me to finally hear them through a pro P.A.  Man, I could only imagine what they would sound like through a pro touring system.  It would be scary!  Vince and Jimmy did an excellent job too.  Keep on kickin' that butt, brother!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Paula & Mike Johnson Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

BEST "BLUES ROCK" AROUND
Scott McGill and Old Dog Mac are a treat to see and listen to.  They not only sound great but they keep you on the edge of your seat with excitement and energy with their outstanding stage performance.  My husband and I have been following the band for some time and will continue to do so.  And because we are out and about on the music scene we know a good band when we hear one, we can honestly say that Scott, Vince and Jimmie are the BEST!!!  Their prescription of "Blues Rock" is just what the doctor ordered!!!!!!!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Tina Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Best CD I've bought all year!  I love this band!  Saw them 1st time at SRO for CD Release.  Was so impressed with the originality and high energy show, along with Scott's excellent mastery of the guitar, that I bought the CD that night.  Have turned others on to them since then and we've seen them numerous times.  Each new person felt the same way we did and they bought their CD's.  OLD DOG MAC must be seen so you'll know what I'm talking about!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Rainy Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

My husband and I have been fans of Scott McGill for many years.  We've enjoyed all of his bands over the years, but Old Dog Mac is a favorite.  We bought the CD as soon as it was available and love every minute of it.  Scott has maintained his blues/rock integrity over the years and can still be relied upon to deliver some blistering rock riffs alongside some of the sweetest, most soulful blues you'll ever want to hear.  Standing by his side are his patners in crime.  Jimmie Barnes who thumps a mean bass and is a showman through and through and Vince Montalbano who shows us all exactly how important a drummer is in a blues/rock band.  Don't miss a show and bring enough $$ to buy a CD.  Whether it's your 1st or 101st time to see Scott, you'll be blown away by the music.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Stephan Barlow Date: 8-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have heard many good things about Scott McGill's shows over the years, but i never had the chance to drop in on one.  Last Friday I decided to give it a shot during his double-billing weekend at Antone's.  Summertime never sounded like THAT!  I couldn't believe what I was hearing as Scott made his guitar weep, nearly drawing me to tears!  His "electric violin" guitar style was very impressive.  I've seen guys use bows on their guitars before, but this was totally different.  I won't give away what the secret for those of you who haven't seen him, thought I'll tell you it's quite amazing.  The band moved smoothly between guitar ballads to rockin' blues and many directions in between, drawing the crowd of dancers back and forth between slow dancing and riotous cheers!  I was able to acquire the band's new CD, and after a few good listening sessions I"ll post a review on that as well.  For now, be sure and check out Old Dog Mac at one of their many upcoming shows!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Wanda Date: 8-08-02
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

These "Old Dogs" produce and perfect the blend of blues and rock.  The lead guitar is fabulous and the bass and beat bring it all together!  Keep up the good work guys.  I can't wait for the next CD.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Old Dog Mac Reviewed by:  Chantel Date: 8-06-02
Reviewer is from:  Nederland, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Old Dog Mac is the best CD that I have heard.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Old Dog Mac's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter