Back to
Rivertrain's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Rivertrain
CD Title:   Abandoned Reviewed by:  Wanda (texasgingercash@yahoo.com) Date: 3/21/08
Reviewer is from:   Port Charlotte, FL Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I was fortunate enough to meet these guys in 2003 when they played at the bar where I was employed.  They do a kick-ass job and I love every tune they do.  They give Texas Music the good name it deserves.  I hope they keep turning out music like this for years to come.  They're also a great bunch of guys!  Rock on, boys...keep the hits coming!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Eleven Reviewed by:  Manny Date: 5/10/07
Reviewer is from:   San Antonio,  TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Wow!  I just heard you guys for the first time last night...I was watching a trailer for a movie I'm working on and Rivertrain provided some of the music for it...I had to borrow the CD to listen...they ROCK!  Good luck!  (I'm looking for tour dates)  Your newest fan Manny

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   both Reviewed by:  Elizabeth Board (lizatx25@yahoo.mail) Date: 10/23/04
Reviewer is from:   College Station, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have been following this band from the start and I have to say every time is a treat.  My children know every one of your songs by heart and I take them with me every chance I get.  I even have pics of my son on stage with ya'll.  He is a totally devoted fan and loves this album more than the last if that is possible.  Luv you guys.
Elizabeth, Tylar, Haylee, Kimberlee

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Eleven Reviewed by:  Unknown Date: 2-20-04
Reviewer is from:   Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Congrats on the nominations, good luck, you got my vote.  Saw you guys recently with the new line-up - hot!HOT!HOT!  Keep it coming, can't wait for more.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:   Anonymous Reviewed by:  Unknown Date: 2-7-04
Reviewer is from:   Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

All the songs Sam sings are awesome!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title: n/a Reviewed by:  Sam Sanchez (RIVERTRAIN) Date: 11-29-03
Reviewer is from:   San Marcos, Texas Rating:  n/a  

Add a review

From Sam Sanchez of Rivertrain:
Hey ya'll! On behalf of the band I would like to thank each and every person who has taken the time to write a review, buy one of our records, and especially those who come out to the shows week in and week out.  We consider ourselves lucky to be able to do what we do, but we couldn't do it without ya'lls support.  We are truly grateful and maybe just maybe we will have the opportunity to return the favor.  Thank you!  There is no other way to say it.  Thank You!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  #1 Fan Date: 11-7-03
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've seen Rivertrain since the beginning, and while the music has definitely progressed, one thing that has always been the same are their live shows.  Abandoned is one of the finest first CDs I've ever heard, and Eleven is nothing short of amazing.  The guys have always had the ability to please just about everyone when it comes to certain genre of music.  These guys will never be accused of being boring and when you have the chance to catch one of their killer live shows, you will understand why.  Keep in goin' guys!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Christine Date: 10-1-03
Reviewer is from:   Bastrop, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

My friends and I went out to Coupland Dance Hall and was watching another band, then Rivertrain got on and they were awesome.  We didn't want them to stop singing, we would have bought their CD but we had no money left.  I just wanted to say they are a great band (and Sterling is hot!) and whoever hasn't gone and seen them need to make it a point that they go out and see them!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Smelly Fisher Date: 9-16-03
Reviewer is from:   Port Lavaca, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Heard about these guys from a buddy so went to a show at Beachcombers and they were kick-butt good.  Bought the CD.  Sounds better than the wussy stuff that's played on the radio.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Evelyn Date: 9-12-03
Reviewer is from:   Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I was mad when I showed up for a show and Jesse wasn't there but Sterling is pretty cute too and the band will obviously survive.  They seem to just keep getting better.  I catch a show every couple of months but lately I've been on their website every week to see where they are.  You guys do get around!  The new CD is sooooo hot.  Maybe not as much fun as the first, but stronger musically.  If you're just a browser and looking for something worth listening to, y ou have found it!  Just listen to the clips - that'll be enough to get you hooked on the Train.  Keep it rollin, guys.  We want more.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  John-Boy Date: 9-12-03
Reviewer is from:   New Braunfels, TX Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

OK, Im writing this because I lost a bet with my girlfriend.  She's been in love with Rivertrain from before we hooked up and I went to some shows just to keep her happy.  (Life is better when the ladies are happy, right?)  So she bets I will like them for real before Labor Day.  Guess she figured out I do dig this band when I bought 3 CDs at the County Line and one of them plays in my truck ALL the time.  Here it is, babe - I'm telling everyone you were right.  I'm telling everyone out there Rivertrain, live or recorded, is a kick ass band and they better keep it up cause they have to keep my little lady happy.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 9-1-03
Reviewer is from:   Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Rivertrain may be the best band you've never heard of, but it won't be long before everyone knows them.  I first saw them at Dam Red Barn and have been catching the train anywhere, any time ever since.  Tremendous stage personalities - great original music (dump the covers, guys, and just do your thing) - professional studio work - They're getting the whole thing together and doing it pretty quick.  They wouldn't be bookin' in the places they're at if they weren't pleasing a lot of people.  I'm buying the total package, but the music is the strongest hook (except maybe for Jerry's blue eyes and Sam's and Sterling's hair) - Keep it up.  Where's #3?

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Billie Date: 8-20-03
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

On a scale of 1 to 10, "Eleven" lives up to its name.  Strong and gritty original songs delivered with attitude that matches the music.  Even with some personnel changes, the band has kept the edge that has marked it from the start.  I do miss the humor from the first album, but "What About Me" is so strong, I would have bought the disc just for that one song.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Bob Date: 8-22-03
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Rivertrain kicks ass AGAIN!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Eleven Reviewed by:  Chad Bachhofer
cbachhofer@satx.rr.com
Date: 8-14-03
Reviewer is from:   San Antonio, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

These guys are BAD ASS!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Bobby Mitchell Date: 6-9-03
Reviewer is from:   Galveston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I just saw Rivertrain do a small set at Party In The Pasture and knew I had to have their CD so I got it.  It is by far one of the BEST records I have purchased in a long while!  "Small Town Girl", GREAT, "Devil In Me", FANTASTIC, and "Straight Man's Lament", can't help it but it makes me want a drink, and on and on and on.  But my favorite is a tie between "The Beer Song" and "Harley".  I will catch these guys again for their performance and also for their autographs cause these boys are going Big Time.

Editor's Note: Bobby Mitchell is also an MTM member artist!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Nicole Date: 5-21-03
Reviewer is from:   San Antonio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I just recently heard of this band by a couple of my friends.  And I went to see them play at the Tavern, and I can't get enough of them.  The edginess of their music is very intriguing, and they definitely know how to get the attention of their listeners.  They are also very nice people, I've had the change of meeting them a couple of times, and they are probably the nicest band I know.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Rachel B Date: 4-29-03
Reviewer is from:   San Antonio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Rats!  Somebody took my Rivertrain CD!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 4-20-03
Reviewer is from:   unknown Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

All I can say is, Jesse, you've got your MOJO RISIN.  
You're my favorite!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Heather Bowers (Spring Break) Date: 3-17-03
Reviewer is from:   Red Oak, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

These guys are awesome.  I got a chance to hang out with them this Spring Break and they are great.  Their CD is awesome, we bought it and listened to it the whole way back to Houston.  And we all think Jesse is a cutie-pie. :-)
Anyways, see you guys in Dallas.  Love, Heather

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Cole Date: 2-3-03
Reviewer is from:   San Marcos, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Great CD, Jesse - I'm a big tex country fan, I'll be sure to check ya'll out in San Marcos next time ya come.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Holly Date: 1-28-03
Reviewer is from:   Uvalde, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This CD is the first CD I have ever listened to that I truly listen to all the way through, every time!  Every song is great.  My absolute favorite band to see live, these guys party on stage and have just as much fun as the crowd.  You just can't stand still during a single song.  Rock on, guys - see you soon!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Full Mooner Date: 1-15-03
Reviewer is from:   unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This is quintessential Texas!  The CD is great, but their shows are even better!  They have a nice healthy mix of rip-romp, boot-scooting, and just the right touch of sappiness...add to that Sam's own brand of comedy, and you've got yourself one heck of a Saturday night show!  Keep it up guys!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  "Texas Music Connoisseur" Date: 12-07-02
Reviewer is from:   TX Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

I only put 4 stars because I didn't have the choice of 4 1/2.  I've gotten to know "Texas music" pretty well and I have to say these are true musicians.  They are the best show I've seen in a long time with great stage presence, tons of energy, and superb music played with heart - which is reflected in their #1 CD, "Abandoned"....really looking forward to CD #2 so I can give them the other half star.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Bill Date: 12-03-02
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, tX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've been keeping up with the Train for a while now and caught them at The Cove last week.  I bought the CD just to get the "Harley" song but now it's the mainline music in my truck.  These boys grow on ya, and they're good.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Jesse's Girl Date: 11-20-02
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Although in the past I haven't been crazy about Texas music - this CD is one of my favorites!  Rivertrain is not only a band, but like a family (one that I've had the privilege of sharing time with the past six months).  Their music is great and the work behind what they produce is timeless.  I have never seen a group of people take raw talent and put it all together in one rockin' musical performance as the RxT boys do.  I am so thankful that I came across this band (especially that beautiful bass player, i love you Jess) - this band has opened my musical senses by showing me the poetry and fun in every song they perform.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Jay Date: 11-04-02
Reviewer is from:  Concan, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The CD is great - like the surprise!  These guys live are awesome!  Can't wait to catch another show.  Keep up the good work and the great music!  Rock on!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Granny Date: 10-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Jerry Martin of Rivertrain married my granddaughter about two years ago.  I have never seen my darling granddaughter as happy as she has been since she met Jerry.  Now they are making a whole lot of people happy with their music.  I've seen Rivertrain and all the guys in the band are so sweet.  But it's the music that counts, and they make exciting music.  Mostly I listen to the old country classics and I go to the Opry at Bluebonnet Palace.  But, if the new music is like Jerry and Sam's songs, then country music is going to stay around for a long time.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  #1 Fan Date: 10-22-02
Reviewer is from:  San Manuel, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I've read all the other reviews and just had to say ditto and ditto!  Rivertrain is great live - the guys just have so much fun the audience has to get into the music with them.  Whether singing along with "The Beer Song" or wiping away a tear when Jerry sings the wedding song he wrote for his bride, you feel like you're part of the whole band experience.  Sincerity, humor, drama, and raunch are all in Rivertrain's CD - and it all works!  At live performances, you can get previews of what may be coming up on CD #2, 'cause Jerry and Sam are constantly creating.  If you make it to a show, request that wedding song or "What About Me?"  Hot stuff - just like the guys of Rivertrain!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  SKS Date: 10-20-02
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This is a must-have CD!  These guys are great, and the production is second to none.  Well worth the money...even better live!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Hoffmann Date: 10-18-02
Reviewer is from:  McAllen, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Play that Rivertrain CD and the next thing you know the music is in your mind all day.  The songs stick - you'll be driving the highway and your brain will be singing "Ride My Harley"...or you'll be watching a football game, but "She's a fast-track small town girl..." will running through your head.  This is new music that will soon be classic, I think - the kind of thing that everyone will know and it will last because it's good and because no one else is doing anything quite like it.  The Train is loaded up with a lot of rock, the basics of country, some blues and bluegrass, and even spirituals - it's a mix that works.  GIve us more!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Billie Date: 10-18-02
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

You gotte hear Rivertrain!  First of all, the band is just plain good with the gritty, honky-tonk Texas sound.  If both lead singers - Jerry Martin and Sam Sanchez - had laryngitis at the same time, a Rivertrain show would still be a blast.  All four regulars hit their instruments with hard and uninhibited energy and talent.  Add Jerry and Sam and Rivertrain lives up to its slogan: We're Putting the Rock Back In Country.  Each singer performs the songs he has written.  So, Jerry's heart comes out in his words and his voice.  Sam's humor and irreverance color what he writes and how he sings.  My favorites are Jerry's "Small Town Girl", "I Was Raised A Texan (with Susan Gibson), and the crowd favorite Harley song.  Sam's "Straight Man's Lament" is hilarious, but he changes tone for "Santa Fe", a wistful tragic ballad.  Get this first CD by Rivertrain.  It may become a collector's item.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Stephanie Date: 10-16-02
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have been seeing these guys live for quite sometime now and their new CD has been a long time coming.  THANK YOU.  Though it has been anxiously awaited, I can honestly say, it is well worth the wait!!  WHERE IS THE NEXT ONE?  I listen to that 1st track "Small Town Girl" every single morning on my way to work...it wakes you up better than a strong cup of coffee!! BRING ON THE TRAIN!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  P.B.S. Date: 10-09-02
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Wow!  What a great job at mixing fast and fun with slow and serious.  This CD is very diverse and i know has a song for anyone's taste.  Track Number 2 is especially wonderful.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  JB Date: 10-09-02
Reviewer is from: New Braunfels, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Rivertrain's CD, "Abandoned", is a non-stop ride of foot-tapping, knee-slapping, side-splitting, ear-pleasing fun!  The quality of the writing and performing is excellent, and the production is superb.  If you've ever seen them live, you know that these guys LOVE what they do.  It's evident on the album as well.  You can almost hear them smiling right through your speakers!  This album really does the band justice and is a MUST-HAVE for any Texas music lover!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Wow Date: 10-09-02
Reviewer is from:  San Marcos, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This CD is FAR OUT...just hands-down RADICAL.  It's serious on some songs and funny in others.  I hear the train a'comming...and it's headed on the fast track to more awesome hits and albums.  Good job boys!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  Rachel B Date: 10-01-02
Reviewer is from:  San Antonio, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This is an outstanding debut album.  The songwriter songs are top shelf such as "Small Town Girl", "Santa Fe" and "Devil In Me" to name a few.  Plus there are alot of fun songs, too.  Nice guitar work as well.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  BK Long Date: 9-26-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

A legitimate "Music Critic" I am not - but I know good music, not to mention talent, when I hear it.  After listening to "Abandoned", I decided I want to get on THE Train - Rivertrain, that is!  My toes still haven't stopped tapping.  What a "fun" CD.  These guys represent "total talent" - musicians, entertainers songwriters, balladeers, etc.  Each song told a story; I couldn't wait to hear the next offering.  Perfect blend of country, rockabilly, and just good down-home music!  OK, Boys, when are you coming down the tracks to Houston?  Rest assured, I'll be waiting at the station, with my dancin' shoes on!  Watch out, Texas, RIVERTRAIN come'n through!  FULL STEAM AHEAD!  ALL ABOARD!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Abandoned Reviewed by:  D. Keebler Date: 9-24-02
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I'm not a musician, but I do know good music when I hear it, and this is great music.  I go and see them live every chance I get and this disc is in heavy rotation in my car.  From rock and roll to bluegrass you can hear all the influences come through on this CD.  If you're into Texas music, you have got to have this CD!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Rivertrain's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter