Back to
Robert Frith's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Robert Frith
CD Title:  All Reviewed by: B.J. Thibodeaux Date: 7/28/05
Reviewer is from:  Winnie, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Robert is in a class by himself.  No one style can claim him.  I actually met him before I heard his music.  I'm a beginner singer/songwriter (self titled) and Robert pulled me up on the stage with him the first night I met him.  My uncle married his cousin, but he didn't have to do that.  Since then he's let me stand in on a couple of songs and is such an inspiration to me that I can't put it into words.  Anyway, what I'm saying is he's a great guy on top of being a phenomenal entertainer.  Since hearing him, I CAN NOT STOP playing his CDs (all of them!).  I am a Robert Frith wannabe!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Pontune Reviewed by: Anonymous Date: 4/11/05
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

A lifetime favorite!  Never gets old...stays close by all the time.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Pontune Reviewed by:  Eric Givens Date: 8/22/03
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I have had this CD for a few years now and I have to say it has definitely been played as much as you can play a CD.  Robert is a great musician that should be breaking into the mainstream of the industry.  The song "When April Sees Me" has a very personal meaning to me and has helped me through several rough spots.  I hope that Robert continues to put out music for years to come.  I can't wait to hear his new CD.  I would highly recommend this CD to anyone who enjoys great music.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Greg Bowen Date: 5-30/03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

A breath of fresh air musically....Lyrically it touches all of our best memories growing up.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Kris Bellard Date: 4/10/03
Reviewer is from:  Groves, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Robert Frith is an excellent vocalist who has major talent.  Robert needs to go play down on Crockett Street.  Robert is a lucky TEXAN who grew up in Port Acres, Texas - it's not a bad place to grow up if you have ever been there then you know what I'm talking about.  I haven't read anything by any of you fans out there about his new baby.  She is a very cute little girl.  Yes, I have seen her personally, that's because Robert is my cousin.  He did happen to marry my Aunt's sister and yes, Robert and Christina are very happy together.  Well, if any of you have met him let me know what you think of him, okay?  If you want a chance to see him play go to robertfrith.com and check out his schedule!  He plays at the handlear often well I'm outta hear peace out.  Kris Bellard.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  anonymous Date: 4/8/03
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Ear candy!  If you haven't picked up one you should.  This guy is awesome.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Shawn Date: 3-26-03
Reviewer is from:  Sugar Land, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Robert is an outstanding musical talent who has the ability to balance superior lyrical content with the perfect composition.  In addition, his unique sense of humor makes this an enjoyable CD on many levels.  Personal favorites:  Jambalaya, Like A Glove, Yo Yo Pa, Famous Jane, The Rent, Driven In Me, The Way Back Home, Blew 'Em Away.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Teddy Date: 1-13-03
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, TX Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Robert Frith serves up another gem, although this time "Boogaloo" is a little more laid-back than the previous release "Pontune" with more diversity in arrangements.  It's definitely "music to chill by" as we used to say back in  college.  Robert shows his humorous side with "Yo Yo Pa", a commentary on the strange nature of the music business.  It's also satisfying to see that Robert finally recorded several of the covers that his live shows are famous for, like "Jambalaya", and "Dancing In THe Moonlight".  They are great!  His collaboration with songwriter Doug Greeg continues on "Boogaloo" with great results.  Check out "California" and "Capital Hall" for starters.  It's a great buy.  You can't go wrong.  With 18 tracks there's surely something there for everyone.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Rebekah Date: 1-11-03
Reviewer is from:  Winchendon, MA Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

First time I heard Robert and the 3rd Coast was at the Pleasure Pier Music festival...I went to hear Firefall and was totally blown away by Robert and 3rd Coast.  I acquired Long Black Ribbon and played the tape soooo much it just wore out.  PONTUNE is a great CD and I think BOOGALOO is gonna top PONTUNE.  THe variety of songs really adds to the CD.  Love the horns in "In the Light", the rendition of Jambayla makes this southern girl miss "Port Arthur" and all the southern comforts of the south.  Congratulations Robert on a great CD, and I hope that it will open up those doors to a Greater Success on the horizon.  Very talented songwriter and performer.  Keep those CDs coming....

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Jackson Date: 1-10-03
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

As usual, Robert delivers on his latest CD, too!  The family has been fans for years, way back to college days and like fine wine, he gets better with age.  "Rodeo Song" is one of our favorites and rates up there with "When April Sees Me" and "What A Fool Believes".  Robert is a true Texas treasure, like Willie, but with more teeth!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

My wife and I went to Port Arthur (from Houston) just so we could catch a great show and see old friends.  Robert (guitar/vocals), David (bass), Frankie (keyboards), and Brian (drums) once again blew the crowd away!  Three blazing sets of original music backed by great blues and R&B covers.  Robert NEVER fails to deliver the kind of music that won't let you stay in your seat.  Robert also did some solo acoustic tunes that were perfect for shining your belt buckle.  Robert mainly plays in Houston, but does get back to the Triangle every now and then.  If you ever get a chance to hear him, take it.  You won't be sorry!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Beaumont, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Love the tunes!  So much talent and diverse music styles all on one CD.  Robert can sing it all.  I'm crazy about the "Rodeo Song"!  This CD will do well, I'm sure of it.  Be sure to get yours!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Steven Breaux Date: 1-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Clear Lake, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I really am pleased with this new release.  I think he's stayed true to his musical roots.  Keep up the good work, Robert - and good luck!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  That Long Black Ribbon Reviewed by:  Annie Date: 1-9-03
Reviewer is from:  Nederland, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Robert is an amazing performer!  The music he creates gets you singing along and feeling wonderful!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Boogaloo Reviewed by:  Darold Frederick Date: 12-28-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

After buying the first two CDs from Robert Frith, I thought he put everything he had into both of them.  I thought to myself, "How can he top Pontune?"  Then I found the answer - "BOOGALOO"!  If you love great music, treat yourself to BOOGALOO!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  The Long Black Ribbon & Pontune Reviewed by:  P. Woods Date: 09-17-02
Reviewer is from:  Lake Charles, LA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

We first heard Robert at a place here in Lake Charles and were blown away.  We purchased both of his CDs and are really looking forward to the next one that is due out soon.  His great voice and killer guitar work ranks up there with the best of them, but we couldn't stop talking about the entire package with this guy.  He is so personable on stage and off, you really can tell that he loves what he does.  Good luck Robert and please come back and see us in Lake Charles.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  The Long Black Ribbon Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 08-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Jacksonville, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I think it is really good and great.  Keep up the good work.  It reminds me of really good stuff from the old and new days.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  The Long Black Ribbon Reviewed by:  Tony Date: 7-22-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

Personal opinion, Robert has a great voice... a real Texas style.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  The Long Black Ribbon Reviewed by:  Kellie Date: 7-21-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Robert's music is awesome.  

I will never forget the first time I saw him, it was in Beaumont, Tx.  I wasn't sure what to expect, but all my friends were in love with him and his music.  Well, let me tell you, it only takes one live performance to fall for him and his music.   

I have both CDs and trying to listen to them is very difficult.  My 16 and 11 year old daughters usually have the CDs in their rooms or cars.  They know every word to every song Robert sings.  Robert's music covers all generations.  

I recommend purchasing both CDs, this is the kind of music you want to hear all the time.   It's fresh, it's exciting, it's soothing, it's awesome.  I can't say enough good things about Robert Frith, The Third Coast members and their music. 

The record industry is missing out on some great Texas talent.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Pontune Reviewed by:  April Kelly Date: 7-17-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I'm absolutely nuts about this guy's music!  So much so that, after having traded my CD for his, Pontune has stayed in my car and hasn't come out.  It's been over a year now and this CD is still enjoying regular rotation!  

Liked it so much that I learned all of the harmonies and set up a gig to share with Robert to show him what I could do with the vocals.   It worked!  I got to contribute to the harmonies on his third CD and feel like I should've paid him for the honor.  Wonderful singer/ songwriter...can't understand why he hasn't broken into the mainstream yet.  Some record company is missing out on a true find.

Buy Pontune.  The diversity of music on this CD is astonishing and you will enjoy every song for it's dynamics, lyrical content and excellent musicianship.  The production is polished and professional.  (I want Robert to help me produce MY next CD!   How 'bout it, Robert?) Heck, I'D offer a money back guarantee if I could!  =)
(No, I'm not related to Robert in any way....)  =)
Highest Ratings on this project....    

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Pontune Reviewed by:  Butch Date: 7-17-02
Reviewer is from:  Port Neches, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

What would you get if you combined the songwriting ability of Croce and Morrison, the hands of Stevie Ray, the timing of BB King, and the voice of JT (well similar)? Robert Frith, of course. 

Robert's music transcends any one genre. He's blues, rock, pop and even a little zydeco all rolled into one! As unique as the individuals above, Frith relies on his roots to guide him through to his destination... simply great music! Listen to him once and your hooked. 

He has a following, people drive for miles to see him wherever he goes, again and again. Pontune can give you a taste of what those of us lucky enough to catch him live get on a regular basis, music that grabs your soul. It's addicting and you'll find yourself wondering why you haven't seen him performing at halftime of the Super Bowl. Give him a listen, you won't regret it!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Pontune Reviewed by:  S. Borel Date: 7-15-02
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

We have seen Robert perform several times, both solo and with his band. He has to be one of the most unique artists to come along in a long time, in fact I asked who he thought he most sounded like and he said "Myself". I love that, I love the kind of artist that strives to be himself. 

In a cookie cutter world it is wonderful to find music that strikes so many chords in all of us, and is completely unique. I know he is about to put out his third album soon and we can't wait, knowing him it will be something new and fresh. 

As for this CD, "Pontune", if you don't already have it and his first "That Long Black Ribbon", you would be doing yourself a huge favor by picking them both up. They are filled with his R & B grooves as well as some outstanding Acoustic and Rock offerings as well. His lyrics and music meld into each other perfectly and lead you through a wonderful selection that changes from one song to the next. 

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Robert Frith's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter