Back to
Russell Clepper's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Russell Clepper
CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Clif (cnmurphy@gvtc.com) Date: 7/7/07
Reviewer is from:   Boerne, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

If you like music and if you like words, you will love this CD.  Although ostensibly written about/concerning Texas, it is a metaphor for life, in all it's phases; it's universal in its themes and approach.  San Antonio music critic Jim Beal describes Russell Clepper's approach to music as "authentic hand-made music".  I couldn't have said it better.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Some Place Like Heaven Reviewed by:  Casey Cainan (casey@caseycainan.com) Date: 12/12/05
Reviewer is from:   Paris, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Holy Shiznit - I don't know how I have missed hearing Clepper till now.  Great songwriting with great melodies.  I am a fan-for-good with this guys' work.  I put him up there with Gram Parsons.  You gotta check this guy out!  My personal fave is "Labor Cafe" with "Southwest Freeway" a close second.  Thanks man for the great songs.

Editor's Note:
Casey Cainan is also a fine Texas musician!  Check him out at: www.mtyexasmusic.com/caseycainan

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Cat Date: 10/10/04
Reviewer is from:   Dallas, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

A friend gave me a copy of this CD and said I had to listen to it.  I didn't get around to it for a few days, then I put it in my CD player and listened as I shut my eyes intending to take a nap.  The first song, Dison's Hill, started and I forgot the nap.  There is no word to express what this music made me feel.  I was truly stunned.  I sat up and listened to the entire CD, then listened again.  Each song, every one on this CD, moved me somewhere in my Soul. Russell Clepper creates music that transcends the blacks, whites and greys of everyday Life.  I felt as if I had been through a looking glass and was in the middle of a beautiful Painting, brilliant, clear, yet soft and warm.  Storytelling of this callibur, accompanied by music so pure, is hard to describe.  The painting I entered upon hearing it for the first time, I can only describe as a canvas with the brush in the hand of Claude Monet.  It is Alive.  I hope Mr.Clepper understands that there is true Greatness in his talent.  I look forward to hearing more of his magic,  if this is his first CD, what in the world have I not heard. 

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Kimberly Clark (kimberlymichelleclark@yahoo.com) Date: 7-21-04
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I thought this CD was excellent.  I love you Uncle Russell!  His daughter's CD is excellent as well!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Kathy McCullough Date: 2-24-04
Reviewer is from:  Brownwood, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

You don't have to be from Texas to appreciate his music.  From personal experience, I know that Russell puts his heart and soul into each piece he writes - and he definitely is worth listening to.  "Way to be, Russ!"  Love, Kathy

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 7/17/03
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Music rooted in Texas = Russell Clepper songwriter.  Exceptional writers create from a sense of place - in the heart and mind of the land that envelops them.  Russ is such a writer.  To truly take in his music, you need to be driving down a long, straight road in dry desert or flat land (preferably in Texas, but if you're not in Texas, Russ will take you there.)  Drive alone.  As you drive, let the music draw you into the words.  Travel the line of his melody and words into the landscape around you then you will begin to understand the subtle, yet complex beauty of his music.  Savor each word as it reveals an underlying truth about life and land.

"...In my prairie mind I have seen
mountains in pictures in a book.
I pondered their mysteries as hopes beyond the rise.
But there ain't no rise to cross over here.
Nothing to hide my view to the stars.
Planets edge to that naked lonely linen,
to that line,
to that chain
wrapped around my prairie mind." (Prairie Mind)

"   Through blades of grass all bendin' in waves beneath clouds
like refugees unnumbered, toward freedom's borders bowed.
The wind still sings softly a song that no one knows
with a storm brewing somewhere on the road to Del Rio..." 
(Nobody's Song)

This is a man who has traveled down many a road, taken untold detours, and found his way back again and again.  His words reveal a contemplative nature and if you allow yourself to really listen to his music, you may find a less-traveled road to your own heart.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Tracy Lynn Tucker Date: 6/20/03
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The songs are moving and beautiful.  Russell writes such vivid lyrics and then backs them up with fantastic musical talent.  I love this CD and find that it only gets better the more I listen to it.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Linda Kirkpatrick Date: 1/7/03
Reviewer is from:  On The Frio, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I received Russell's CD right after it was released and I was so blown away!  I have known Russell and his family for many years, having with his sisters, but I never knew that he had all this talent!  It is a great CD filled with touching, humble stories all written from the heart and backed by his great guitar.  Congratulations, Russell!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Son Of A Farmer Reviewed by:  Emily Date: 8-13-02
Reviewer is from:   Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Wonderful CD, great poet, good singer, awesome guitar player, everyone should buy this CD!!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Russell Clepper's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter