Back to
Saylor White's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Saylor White
CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Joe Cahill (joe_macintosh@hotmail.com) Date: 10-1-07
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

AWESOME!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Tom Abell (tabellhom@juno.com) Date: 12-18-03
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Saylor has come into my life filling my need for great songs.  His songwriting talent is only surpassed by his great love of music.  His drive to fill his life with music and put songwriter's music before his own benefits us all.  I thank you for what you give to us all.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Juan Mantas Date: 11-7-03
Reviewer is from:  Alicante, Spain Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The Simply Of Beauty:  To be I must say I didn't buy "Graven Image" the first time I had in my hand, I don't know this guy at all, I thought...and I put it back.  Next week, I went to the music store to look around and I saw "Graven Image" in front of me, Saylor White looking at me from the CD shelf...I stared at him for a while and then knew that somebody with that look in his eyes ain't gonna give you no shit, just like Dylan man, you know he ain't gonna give you no shit.  The first two songs are two romantic easy ballads sung in an old fashioned way, and you wanna be in a sofa with a girl and a chimenne, but you really like them the third or fourth time you listen to them.  "For All We Know" has these haunting and beautiful lyrics about the Lord and those doubts we have about Him, how we get disappointed and dillusion but still keep believing...all the way, man.
With "Sign Of The Times", the Cd starts to rock a bit, really good song.  This guy's lyrics describe life just the way it is, with much more sorrows than happiness...these situations are so real and human, so truthful.  "The Last Thing" and "Queen" you feel really close to Saylor when he sings...In "Queen" he sounds pretty much like Guy Clark, which is really OK with me.  The song "Graven Image" is simply amazing, fragile but powerful, with a beautiful acoustic solo by the end of the song.  For me, "Real Men" is the best song, you see yourself in that song man, you can't miss it.  "Fire In The Sky" is another gem, so desperate (must listen) the last two songs are more of the same.  Some songs make you think you're in a bar, and others seem like Saylor is singing in your ear.  This is a romantic and an acoustic precious album, I think Saylor's a poet but he's also an emotions teller and if I have feelings it'll hit by the beginning... There's honesty in this Texas guy...and that should be enough.   Juan

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Blair Powell Date: 8-21-03
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Saylor's vocals and lyrics draw you in like a moth to the flame.  Excellently produced.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Chris Collins Date: 8-20-03
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I'm basing my review on more than just Nashville "will it sell a million copies" criteria.  If you take the time to listen to Graven Image, you'll find lyrics and arrangements that run deep and true.  Every word has a meaning and every notes fills the arrangement.  Nothing more, nothing less.  It gets to the core of great songwriting.  It's way beyond FM radio fluff.  If you don't personally know Saylor White, you can get to know him through his songs.  They are a reflection of the man.  Great album, Chris Collins.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Graven Image Reviewed by:  Don Claussen Date: 8-11-03
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  лллл  

Add a review

My first question was "Who the hell is Saylor White?"  I"m listening to an interview with Saylor on KPFT as this question rolls repeatedly through my mind.  So now my curiosity is piqued and I've got to see this guy.  So I go to the Hops House on Friday the 8th, and catch Saylor's CD Release.  "Graven Image" to me is a heart to heart talk with your Dad, it's the value of someone's life experience passed on, as well as embarking on a quest for what's down the road.  Yeah, I guess that sounds too maudlin and I could go thru a song by song diatribe of the lyrics and melody of each track.  However, music is like art, you have to know what you like.  One man's junk is another's treasure.  Take a stroll down life with Saylor and figure it out for yourself.  My dad always told me there's room for improvement; hence the four stars, and you should always go thru life with as many laughs as you can, because none of us are getting out alive.  Let Saylor pass on a few more lessons!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Raw Reviewed by:  Melissa Puntenney Date: 9-02-02
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

Saylor's second offering - RAW - is a gem in a gem case.  I've heard this guy since he first picked up a guitar 40 years ago, and his growth in the past couple of years has been exponential.  While this CD is still in the production stages and is a "rough draft", he has found his center, his place, his voice and his words and he is sharing them with us on this CD.  We would be wise to partake, finished or not!
When someone plays a song and you SEE it, the artist has no doubt, succeeded.  So it is with QUEEN, my personal favorite.  When one of my co-workers heard the first line - "I give you a rose now, my lady," and she reached for a box of Kleenex, saying "I'm going to cry, aren't I?"  I said, "Yea, and you are going to laugh at the same time."  Does it get any better than this?  When the song was over, we didn't talk about what we had HEARD, we talked about what we SAW - visions of these lonely, down on their luck people, whose dreams of beauty and love are STILL intact and they are STILL able to hear the music and they are STILL able to dance, even in the darkness of an alley, with cheap whiskey and a ragged hat.  It was a vision that came to us in a song.  In one version of our makeshift video, this couple danced until they were young and beautiful again.  In another, they were fine just the way they were and continued to dance in the alley where the "stars reflect off the walls."  How long has it been since you SAW a song?  You can see this one, I promise.
SWEET NOVEMBER NIGHT is another magical song that reminds us of the truth.  We all have put "stars in our pocket in a moment of grace", and carry them with us.  We should do the same with this song.  Put it in our pocket and carry it with us through life so we always have grace and magic along, wherever we go, no matter what we lose along the way.
When I hear a song - any song by any artist - I try to connect it to my own life - there isn't a song on this CD I can't relate to - "Come On Home To Me" reminds me of the importance of letting go and trusting.  "For All We Know" is sooooo  about praying to a God you don't understand and are not sure you can trust, but do anyway.  "Sign Of The Times" is just plain fun and YES you can dance to it!  "The Last Thing" is a not-so-gentle reminder of the fragile nature of life and the importance of the here and now.  This theme continues with "Graven Image" - Whew!  This one digs deep.  "Life calls out to a willing heart".  In "Winter Knows" - does it ever!  "Sweet Lover" is just adorable.  She couldn't possibly leave if he sang this song to her, but he made it a little funny just in case she's not buying it.  I really like "These Padded Walls", and can't help but laugh at how much it reflects life - "didn't he read the directions they wrote?"  Probably not!  Ahhhh life.  Hidden in this little song is more truth than most of us want to hear - "It's much too dark for love to bloom."  Better open the window and let some light come in.  Thanks, Saylor, for the reminder.
"Fire In The Sky" is another thought provoking song about what faith really means and how people go through their lives thinking they have "it" when the truth is, they don't get it at all.  I feel like I want to get it now.
One of my all time favorite sound tracks is the one from The Color Purple.  One of the best songs on that track is "Maybe God's Trying To Tell You Something".  That's how I feel about this CD.  It is a pebble in your shoe, an angel gently tapping you on the shoulder - and in one or two instances - banging you on the head.  It feels like a wake-up call in the form of a song.  Listen.
Suffice it to say, I like this CD so much that I carry it in my purse in case I happen to come across a place to play it!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Just The Way It Goes Reviewed by:  D. Tate Date: 7-23-02
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Saylor speaks to my heart with many of his songs.  He has what I consider a keen insight to the trials and tribulations that face many of us in our lives.  He is able to put into words and music, the essence of those struggles, the power they have in our lives and the possibility of overcoming the damage inflicted upon us in our day to day living.   While many of the songs have a dark side, as does life itself, there are songs which are equally thought provoking and hopeful.   Saylor has a lighter side that he travels to in song and delights the listener.  This particular album left me wanting to hear more of his work, and I hope he has plans for other album in the near future.   He speaks not only to my heart, but also to my intellect, and finally to my soul.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Saylor White's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter