Back to
Shake Russell's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for Shake Russell
CD Title:  Deep in The West Reviewed by:  Ray Smith (rsmith@doubletreelr.com) Date: 2/28/07
Reviewer is from:    White Hall, AR Rating:  ллллл  

Shake's music has made for many a good pickin' and singin' sessions on porches all across Texas.  My Dad actually turned me on to Shake in 1978, and I've loved listening to his music wherever I've moved to over the years and have turned others on to him as well.  Great songwriter/performer!  Please keep doing what you do - I'll continue to enjoy it.  Thanks.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Before Now Reviewed by:  Greg (gmarshal@rice.edu) Date: 2/17/07
Reviewer is from:    Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

To me, this is THE definitive Texas music CD, and the best work Shake Russell has ever done.  My anguish is, I took my prized copy out of my CD changer to go on a road trip, and the traveling case in which it was held got stolen.  I can replace all the other CDs I lost, but not my favorite one "BEFORE NOW".  For some reason, this Texas music classic is available only on cassette (eeeew....).  Please, does anyone have a used CD they'd be willing to sell me?

Editor's note:
Greg, at some point in 2007, we will be offering digital downloads, hopefully of Shake's projects....that will be IF we can get a good master of BEFORE NOW.  Then you can just download it (and pay for it of course so Shake will still earn what he deserves for his work.)  If you have bought anything of Shake's off of our website before, you will automatically get an email from us letting you know when this happens, or if Shake re-releases anything old or puts out something new!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs On The Radio Reviewed by:  Kelly W. (kelwarner@sbcglobal.net) Date: 8/21/06
Reviewer is from:    Los Angeles, CA Rating:  ллллл  

I was first introduced to the music of Shake Russell in the late 70s while living in Houston.  I saw him perform many times at small venues around town, and I was always mesmerized by the beauty of his lyrics, melodies, and rich vocal delivery.  Shake Russell sings from the heart.  The songs recorded on this CD are from those early days and withstand the test of time as some of his best work.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Before Now Reviewed by:  Carl Henderson Date: 8/17/06
Reviewer is from:    Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

I bought this cassette for "Travelin Texas" which was used for the theme song on Ron Stone's "Eyes of Texas" TV show.  I wore the tape out, playing it SO MUCH.  No doubt a collection to have.  To get this on CD will require me to buy two albums to get the all!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs on the Radio Reviewed by:  Ron Sprague (oilyfook@yahoo.com ) Date: 4/16/06
Reviewer is from:    Dhahran, Saudi Arabia Rating:  ллллл  

I want to thank you and Dana for so many things about this album!  The first time I saw y'all was at Fitzgerald's, I believe around 1978.  I was a sophomore at Rice Univ., and had been playing guitar for exactly one year.  I immediately went out the next day and purchased this album, which I still have.  I spent the next couple of years learning to play Deep in the West, Two Silver Hearts, Song on the Radio, and You've Got A Lover" - from watching both of you ver-ry carefully at subsequent shows in Houston, Austin and Kerrville.  I like to think I helped in some small way to contribute to your success, because every time my partner and I did your tunes at impromptu college parties, the girls' phone numbers' piled up, and everyone started asking us where they could get the original recordings!  I'm now 46, living in Dharan, Saudi Arabia, and am resurrecting these songs from my youth to play for local talent shows at Aramco.  Thank you for the girls, the inspiration to write my own material and sing it with my best friend throughout the years, and for the incredible ways in which your music has touched my head and my heart.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Live At The Duck w/ Jack Saunders Reviewed by:  Ron Creech (rcintx@totalzone.com) Date: 1/2/06
Reviewer is from:    Huntsville, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Probably the best Shake Russell fix I"ve ever gotten.  Maybe as much fun as the times I've personally seen him live.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Love's Bright Campaign Reviewed by:  Marie (baysidebabe1964@juno.com) Date: 12/1/05
Reviewer is from:    League City, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Heartwarming from track one to track eleven!  Texas home music.  Shake and Dana have a fan in me forever.  I love you guys.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Comin' Home (album) Reviewed by:  Lissa (ozwarehouse@bigpond.com) Date: 1/26/05
Reviewer is from:    Wimberley, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

I have history with these musical artists and poets from late 70's to present.  Fabulous work and very memorable!  We shared a lot of life together.  I still have my vinyl - in fact, I picked up and carried several cases of them around in my truck until they were all sold!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Island Night Reviewed by:  Charlotte (charlotte.k.harrison@nhmccd.edu) Date: 2/24/05
Reviewer is from:    Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Thanks guys for such an excellent CD.  If you do not have this CD, you need to purchase one for your collection..  I love these songs!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Deep In The West Reviewed by:  Becky Hire (becky@thehires.com) Date: 1/6/05
Reviewer is from:   Damon, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

This is one of my favorite CDs.  If you haven't heard it, you really need to buy it!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Songs On The Radio Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1-19-04
Reviewer is from:   Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

No written review given.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Comin' Home Reviewed by:  Clint The Snake Man Date: 11-10-03
Reviewer is from:   Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

I have not heard the album (originally bought back in the late 70s) in years.  But, still sing Galavantin Galveston Gal, Jubilation, Nothing But Rain, and Touch of New Orleans to myself and the album was destroyed in a fire in 1988.  Great Stuff.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Let Love Be True Reviewed by:  ecrsn@aol.com Date: 10-16-03
Reviewer is from:   Irving, TX Rating:  ллллл  

no written review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Deep In The West Reviewed by:  Leo Rowe Date: 10-9-03
Reviewer is from:   Cypress, TX Rating:  ллллл  

This CD had a nice mix of Mr. Russell's best songs.  There is a great live recording of "You've Got A Lover", made at the KLOL radio station in Houston.

Add a review

Add a review

LP Title:  Songs On The Radio Reviewed by:  Bob Wilkinson Date: 4-12-03
Reviewer is from:   Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

I have owned this vinyl recording since sometime in the '70s, and I still pull it out at least once a month to listen to it.  "Deep In The West" is one of my favorites on the record, as well as "Pretty As A Picture".  I haven't seen Shake Russell live in at least 20 years, but I highly recommend this album.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Listen With Your Heart Reviewed by:  Liz Hale Date: 4-06-03
Reviewer is from:   Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

100,000,000.00 stars!
I first heard this song "Listen With Your Heart" when I was about 12 or around that age - I am 23 now and from that I have been in love with it!  I am furious that my mother took the tape and lost it.  I first heard Shake Russell at the Kerrville Folk Festival.  God, it was great.  Love them!

Editor's note:  "Listen With Your Heart" is available as a CD or as a cassette tape - at our low prices, you can afford to get one for yourself and one for your Mom!  :-)
Go to: www.mytexasmusic.com/shakerussell

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Dreaming The Mystery Reviewed by:  Gail Anne Theriot Date: 3-25-03
Reviewer is from:   Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

I bought this from Shake and Mike's concert at this pub right down the street from where I live.  I love "Deep In The West" - it was the first I heard of him but Dreaming The Mystery has so much spiritual content.  The work is beautiful.  The songs go right to my heart.  I would really like to know Shake's relation to the Cajun woman he sings of.  Is this his wife?  I'm Cajun too and those songs just thrill me to the bone.  They relate to my boyfriend and I so much.  I love the cover, it's really "Shake".  I think it's his best work yet.  Keep Shakin...Gail Anne

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Love's Bright Campaign Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 12-14-02
Reviewer is from:   unknown Rating:  ллллл  

No written review.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Deep In The West Reviewed by:  Houston fan Date: 11-1-02
Reviewer is from:   Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

I was very surprised at the music and voice of Shake in this CD; you can certainly hear a very young Shake.  I love the songs: "You've Got A Lover", "You Wouldn't Know Me", "Two Silver Hearts", which has sent me to the store purchasing any form of silver hearts.  The song "Deep In The West" from the 1st moment he starts in with this song, I am lost in a dream world of Texas sunsets - I am still working on hearing the rest of the song, which I believe says, "...are you listening to me....".  There are so many songs here I like and can comment on, but just to name a few, "Pillow Of Stone", you need to hear this one in person.  "Sing Something Pretty" always leaves me with a sweet smile.  It is so hard to sit still to "Acadian Angel".  And the song "Between Your Heart and Mine", makes you want to take long walks with your honey.  Great CD!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Let Love Be True Reviewed by:  Houston fan Date: 11-1-02
Reviewer is from:   Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

This CD I will have to purchase again, just from the wear and tear of use.  If you ever need a CD to dance to, this is it.  The tunes are great, you can kick up your heels with "New Boots", "Mean Mistreator", and "Sugarland". "Deep In The Skyscraper Shade" is a song wonderfully sung in person and heard on CD, it has a most unusual tone.  MY absolute favorite.  I love the flare of "Art of Compromise".  I still hum along with "Dare of An Angel" and "Let's Talk About Love". Yes, let's!  I love this CD!

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Love's Bright Campaign Reviewed by:  Charlotte Date: 7-30-02
Reviewer is from:   Texas Rating:  ллллл  

"Love's Bright Campaign", "Smiling Like Austin Does", and "She's Sure Enough San Antone", one word - GREAT!!  Definitely a treat for the ears.  The song "Bony Man" brings together Dana's powerful voice and guitar playing to a perfect balance, you should hear this one.  And when you hear "I'm A Lucky Guy", it will be very hard not to start singing along.  Dana and Shake, just make a perfect fit - how do these artists connect up so well?

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Dreaming The Mystery Reviewed by:  Charlotte Date: 10-01-02
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

This is the first CD I bought of Shake Russell, I just had to have the song "Starlight and Shoestrings".  If you love Shake's voice as I do, this CD is for you.  The song "Wandering Indian", "Waltzing on The Moor", "Tennessee is Calling", and "Something in the West Texas Wind" keeps me playing this CD over and over.

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Dreaming The Mystery Reviewed by:  Becky Date: 7-30-02
Reviewer is from:  Brookshire, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

No written review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Deep In The West Reviewed by:  Layne Date: 7-30-02
Reviewer is from:   Rating:  ллллл  

No written review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
Shake Russell's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS


Free Counter Free Counter