Back to
the band's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS

CD Reviews for The Captain Legendary Band
CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Nick Date:  8/28/08
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The best album I've ever heard. PERIOD.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  My Saving Grace Reviewed by:  RL Date:  11/25/06
Reviewer is from:  New Orleans, LA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The CLB 's follow-up to their 04 debut clearly displays the band's growth from a first-rate party band into the skilled lyricists and musicians they are today.  Make no mistake about it, the CLB can still crank up the good times with the best of them, but the band's added depth is obvious on MSG.  CLB fans will recognize several of the songs, such as Brianna, Back In Texas from their live shows, but there are also gems that few, if any CLB fans have heard before.  In The Stars and Lost in Song are two such tracks, and both have me turning the volume knob clockwise and singing along.  Some fellow CLB enthusiasts asked me why I only have Those Songs a 4-star rating, but my reasoning has proved sound.  As good as that album was, the boys had an even better record in them.  Their 5-star effort, My Saving Grace!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  My Saving Grace Reviewed by:  Ron Date:  11/23/06
Reviewer is from:  Houston, TX Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This album is a winner.  The original sound of these guys really hit the mark.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Wayne Foster Date: 6/21/06
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Those Songs plays like a greatest hits.  I can't say that for some of my all time favorite artists.  The best live band I've ever heard.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Brent (brentlowe@hotmail.com) Date: 1/19/06
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

The best live band I've ever heard.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Susan Date: 12/1/05
Reviewer is from:  Dallas, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

These guys are great.  I heard them open for Robert Earl Keen and bought their CD.  Love their stuff!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Crystal (graciedog00@aol.com) Date: 11/28/05
Reviewer is from:  Humble, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I love these guys.  The CD is good but they are better live in concert.  I never miss them when they are in town.  Their songs never get old or boring.  They always sound better!  The band members are all entertaining, too.  More CDs, please!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Meathead Date: 10/27/05
Reviewer is from:  Atlanta, Georgia Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Amazing CD.  Great music from start to finish.  I have heard these guys play for several years now and they only keep getting better.  I have no doubt that they will keep it up and one day we will be able to say we knew them back when they got started!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  THE GUY Date: 8/26/05
Reviewer is from:  unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

I feel this CD shows what good wholesome music should be.  It revives the old Texas country music.  Much thanks for NOT selling out, NASHVILLE STYLE.  Keep the great tunes a-coming!  Much love from the N.O. - I've got four words...P***y and Wild Turkey!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  txmusicguy Date: 5/5/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Great CD.  Very unique sound.  I have never heard anything quite like it.  Hope to be hearing a lot from these guys real soon.  No over-production on this project, that's for sure.  Just stripped down, in your face music that leaves you wanting more!!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  R. Foster Date: 4/14/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  лллл   

Add a review

The Capt. Legendary Band's debut album, "Those Songs" is a reminder of how real - and fun - country music can be when stripped of the thick layer of Nashville schlock that suffocates most "radio" country.  The Louisiana and Texas bred boys in the band clearly find influences in the outlaw sounds of Willie and Waylon, but their music is neither cookie-cutter nor overly derivative.  "Kemah Bay" recalls good times on the Gulf Coast in vivid detail and asks - as many of us have - why those good times never last.  "Four Walls" is a smartly written drinkin' song, served straight up, about the times when a bottle and solitude are better for the soul than the company of friends or women.  No political correctness on "Four Walls" or anywhere else on "Those Songs".  Depsite its potentially mournful content, this song exudes a rebellious spirit that ol' Merle and the 'Possum would have to admire.  Two post-breakup songs, "Still the Same" and "Another Day" are about as good that time-honored country genre can produce, with the first taking a defiant tone and the latter, calmy confronting painful realities but without resorting to sentimentality or sissiness.  Boot-stompin' roadhouse sounds are plentiful on the album, perhaps most clearly in the title track, in which "Those songs keep drivin' me to drink," and on "P&WT", a romp through some good advice Daddy gave about the dangers of women and whiskey...but you get the strong feeling that the boys in Capt. Legendary won't be giving up on women or whiskey any time soon!  Perhaps the best thing about "Those Songs" is that there isn't a bad song in the bunch.  This is an album you can listen to all the way through, and if you happen to be able to pop a top and whoop it up a bit, that's just all the better.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Jen Date: 4/14/05
Reviewer is from:  Baton Rouge, LA Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Saw these guys twice in the last few weeks.  Their show rocks and the CD is great.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Steve E. Date: 2/22/05
Reviewer is from:  Unknown Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Great CD.  Hope to see these guys again real soon!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 2/18/05
Reviewer is from:  Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Love the song writing.  The music behind these lyrics forces you to pay close attention to both.  Would love to see them play some more live shows here in Texas.  And who's that Dave guy mentioned in "Kemah Bay"?  He sounds like a pretty great guy.  Bet he's hot, too!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  coog30@hotmail.com Date: 2/14/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

Really cool sound.  I saw these guys in Humble once and the CD doesn't disappoint.  They have a diverse instrumental base and good vocals that would definitely satisfy any fans of classic country sounds and reach into other audiences as well (guitar solos are pretty damn good).  And honestly, "Four Walls" and "The Captain" alone make it worth the purchase.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 2/11/05
Reviewer is from:  Houston, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

This CD kicks ASS!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 2/11/05
Reviewer is from:  Austin, Texas Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

These guys are awesome.  Great songs.

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

CD Title:  Those Songs Reviewed by:  Anonymous Date: 1/7/05
Reviewer is from:  Baton Rouge, Louisiana Rating:  ллллл  

Add a review

One word, "ASBESTOS"!

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

Add a review

 

Back to
the band's
Page

HOME

MORE
ARTISTS